Thursday, April 28, 2016

My day is almost done. I didn’t get any sewing done, but did manage to produce some beef vegetable soup and two loaves of Banana Bread. I have the tax papers in a large envelope, ready to be dropped at the accountant’s office, but I want to call and set an appt. for next week. I have an eye exam on Wednesday, so will try to get an appt. for that day.

My last follow-up appt. with the orthopedic surgeon is on Friday, May 13th. No superstition worries here. Each day brings its own good or bad karma.

I’ve been scrolling through the English Paper Piecing group’s posts on FB. Actually, it was a post about ‘fussy cutting’ that drew me to the site. Fussy cutting is cutting certain elements out of fabric to use as a focal point. i.e., if you have floral print fabric, you may want to use one particular flower as the center for your quilt block, or mug rug. With this particular group of crafters, they take the same element and cut it out a certain number of times and sew it into a hexagonal or triangular design.

Want to see some examples of Fussy Cutting fabric for quilts? Check out this site:

http://quilting.about.com/od/quiltingglossaryf/g/fussy_cut.htm

More Fussy Cutting for English Paper Piecing can be found here:

http://flossieteacakes.blogspot.com/2014/05/how-to-fussy-cut-fabric-for-english.html

I have to admit to being utterly awed by the precision of these artists (for they truly are artists when using fabric, scissors and machine). This blog site has a number of tutorials to check out. I’ll be bookmarking this one for sure!

Today I learned something new about people who read. They are inquisitive. One employment headhunter says she asks prospective employees what book they had last read. If the person says, “Nothing” or they admit that they’re not fond of reading, she automatically discounts them. She says that a person who reads is someone who wants to learn more about the world, whether they have to or not. Reading is apparently the sign of a good prospect for employment.

Be safe, be well, and be happy. Be sure to tell those you love that you love them.

 

About tehachap

The easiest way to define myself is as a very happily married woman with two sons and two grandsons. My hobbies include reading, writing, sewing, trains (watching, photographing and running them in G scale), and travel. My husband and I are retired and we spend our winters in Arizona. I used to own a secretarial and desktop publishing business, but closed it when my husband retired in 1999. We have truly enjoyed our retirement years, and have fulfilled one of our primary goals in life and that is to own a home overlooking train tracks so we can watch trains 24/7. We are sincerely blessed in this life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

