Monday, May 9, 2016

IMG_3938There is always something to see out on the tracks or the highway. The photo to the left shows the maintenance of way vehicle facing west–but it was actually traveling East!

The next photo shows another track maintenance vehicle facing west, but also moving to the East! If I hadn’t looked out my window when I did, I would have missed both vehicles. Timing is everything in life.

IMG_3937

Speaking of which, I am still not 100% skilled in layout here on WordPress. I have difficulty placing my photos and having the text run around them the way I want it to. Perseverance usually wins out, but it’s still a hit or miss situation.

There’s nothing on the schedule until this Friday when I go back to the Orthopedic Surgeon for a final checkup on my shoulder. I still have pain each day, but it’s much improved overall — except that I still can’t reach behind my back. I’ll keep working at it and perhaps one day I’ll have full extension of the arm. One can hope.

Meanwhile, I’ve finished four of Helene Hanff’s books, the last one being The Duchess of Bloomington Street. I then Googled her name and discovered she had passed away on April 9, 1997, six days from her 81st birthday. She never married, and from what I gathered in reading her books, was happiest when alone. That’s not saying she was a hermit or anything, but she could only handle interaction with other people in measured amounts. I have to admit to enjoying the peace of solitude at times; and the older I get, it seems, the more I enjoy it. Free to be me, I would guess.

Be safe, be well, and please be happy. Be sure to tell those you love that you love them. We are only here for a brief period of time, and we need to make the best of it while we can.

About tehachap

The easiest way to define myself is as a very happily married woman with two sons and two grandsons. My hobbies include reading, writing, sewing, trains (watching, photographing and running them in G scale), and travel. My husband and I are retired and we spend our winters in Arizona. I used to own a secretarial and desktop publishing business, but closed it when my husband retired in 1999. We have truly enjoyed our retirement years, and have fulfilled one of our primary goals in life and that is to own a home overlooking train tracks so we can watch trains 24/7. We are sincerely blessed in this life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Monday, May 9, 2016

  1. mageb says:

    Glad you enjoyed them, and now try Dorothy Gilman. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

