Saturday, May 14, 2016

IMG_3953 IMG_3954

Taped the backing down then pinned it all over. Checked for wrinkles–lots of them, so everything had to be unpinned and realigned. I smoothed, started at a corner, putting the three layers together, then pinned and smoothed. <sigh> Such is quilting with a small workspace. At least I have my sister’s large cutting board (thank you, Sudie). I wouldn’t mind having one twice (or at least half again) this size. But I manage. Considering that this is a mere lap quilt and I’ve done king size quilts, this is a walk in the park. I have to move to the floor for the king and queen size quilts, taping the backing fabric down then layering the other two layers (batting and quilt top), before getting down on my hands and knees and pinning everything within an inch of its life! 🙂

It feels good to be at this point in the creation. I know it’s going to be beautiful when it’s completed. I’m already thinking about how I want to quilt it. Nice… I have to remember to make a label and sew it on before I quilt it. I won’t bother with a label for the pillow as it matches the quilt.I didn’t make it out of the house today and the two quilt shops in town are closed on Monday, so it’s looking like Wednesday of next week before I see a store.

Robert has an appt. with the Neurologist on Tuesday for a check-up. I hope he’s not going to ask us to come back again. They found nothing in all of the tests they ran so it doesn’t make sense to keep going back to pursue something that isn’t there. We shall see… But, since his appointment is in Bakersfield, I might be able to talk him into stopping at JoAnn’s after his appointment. Just to look for a decoration for the pillow… And I received my JoAnn’s coupon flier just the other day so it shouldn’t cost much at all! Nice timing!

The day is drawing to a close — it’s been a good (tiring but productive) day. Be safe, be well, and please be happy. If you haven’t told your loved ones that you love them, you still have time today.

About tehachap

The easiest way to define myself is as a very happily married woman with two sons and two grandsons. My hobbies include reading, writing, sewing, trains (watching, photographing and running them in G scale), and travel. My husband and I are retired and we spend our winters in Arizona. I used to own a secretarial and desktop publishing business, but closed it when my husband retired in 1999. We have truly enjoyed our retirement years, and have fulfilled one of our primary goals in life and that is to own a home overlooking train tracks so we can watch trains 24/7. We are sincerely blessed in this life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Saturday, May 14, 2016

  1. mageb says:

    Did you get my note en re pinning. You can also lay i t out on the dining room table and attch it with those big clamps all around. It’s the getting down and up again that’s hard. I like the 4 block fabrics.

    Like

    • tehachap says:

      No, I didn’t — actually, I do use the dining room table for pinning. It just isn’t big enough to really stretch things and smooth them out. The second time I put the quilt sandwich together, it seemed to ‘glue’ itself together — perhaps the fibers meshed this time. At any rate, i got it pinned and began quilting it tonight. I decided I would just do an outline stitch around each block in the railroad print side — there’s only 1/4″ between the blocks so that should be more than adequate quilting overall. For the added borders (top and bottom), I’ll do a decorative stitch in horizontal rows. I like to have never found my labels… knew I had all kinds of them but couldn’t find them until earlier tonight. I used to have loads of them. Ah me…

      Like

Leave a Reply

