Saturday, May 14, 2016

IMG_3951 IMG_3952

Nothing like getting sidetracked from your main project. I was putting the quilt top together last night and came up with 5 extra blocks. Never one to allow fabric to go to waste, I decided to make a pillow sham to match the quilt. The back has a snap closure so the pillow itself (yet to be created) can be removed and the sham washed and dried. I’m pleased with the way the pillow sham is turning out, but it needs some decoration and I don’t know what to use. I thought about using a large button, but the only one I have that is large is strange looking, though it is brown. Might have to go to the store today and check out buttons! I considered making tassels, but that’s a bit extravagant for a simple throw pillow. We shall see…

Meanwhile, the quilt top is taking shape very nicely. I discovered that the width was fine, but it was about 8 1/2″ short so I added two borders (top and bottom). The added fabric is a nice print that really sets off the main fabric. Once I get it finished, I’ll share a photo.

Meanwhile, back at the ranch, yesterday was a busy day — I had my last appointment with the orthopedic surgeon in the morning. He released me, saying he was pleased with my recovery and that if he’d operated, healing would have taken longer and I would probably not have any more range of motion that I currently have. The x-ray showed that although the ball at the top of the arm was positioned in the socket, it was skewed and this was what contributed to my limited range of motion. When I saw the x-ray of my shoulder, I realized I had broke my shoulder exactly where our youngest son had broke HIS arm when he was 18 months old. My doctor said that since he was so young, his bones were still growing and it wouldn’t have altered his arm at all. He agreed that our son probably didn’t even remember the incident.

After the visit with the orthopedic surgeon, we had lunch at the Panda Express there in Lancaster, then headed to the optometrist’s office to pick up my new glasses. Last night, I was looking at my new frames and was shocked to see that the name of the frames was Barbara–my eldest sister’s name. This gave me a bit of a chill — wondering what the odds are of this coincidence. My world is indeed strange at times.

Be safe, be well, and please be happy. Be sure to tell those you love that you love them.

About tehachap

The easiest way to define myself is as a very happily married woman with two sons and two grandsons. My hobbies include reading, writing, sewing, trains (watching, photographing and running them in G scale), and travel. My husband and I are retired and we spend our winters in Arizona. I used to own a secretarial and desktop publishing business, but closed it when my husband retired in 1999. We have truly enjoyed our retirement years, and have fulfilled one of our primary goals in life and that is to own a home overlooking train tracks so we can watch trains 24/7. We are sincerely blessed in this life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

