Monday, May 23, 2o16

IMG_2581Robert and I had Depot Duty yesterday. Once Sunday a month, we volunteer as Docents there at the Depot. This is in addition to Robert’s weekly Tuesday’s where he and several other volunteers work at the Depot taking care of the signals and any maintenance that needs to be done. We’ve always had an interesting time, and yesterday was no exception.

We met a couple who mentioned they were staying at the Bakersfield RV park where the Crest Bar and Grill is located.We know this RV campground and restaurant because it’s situated about 2 blocks from the Honda dealership where we take our car for repairs. We’ve eaten there at the Crest Grill several times — excellent food and service. That was just the beginning of our small world experience. Further discussion develops and we learn that the husband is less than a year away from retiring from the Department of Defense–the same organization Robert retired from years ago. The final link in connections came when they mentioned that they spend part of their winters in Apache Junction at a 55+ park on the same street as our park. They’re all of a mile away. We’re all laughing together by this time, and I go get one of our business cards to share with them. The husband grins and says to not be surprised if they call and have us to dinner one day! That would be great! We have a  number of interests in common. They even shop at the same antique mall that we do! LOL Times like this are what makes life so special.

When visitors come into the Depot, we ask them to sign a register at the counter in the gift shop. There’s no cost to touring the Depot, but we need to know how many visitors we serve each day. This head count is very important information and it validates our contribution to the community and the world at large. We had 48 visitors yesterday, including a family from China — the cashier and I found it fascinating that the guest book was signed in Chinese! Fascinating. We also had a young hiker who had been hiking the Pacific Crest Trail.

It’s funny. I am always a bit anxious when I volunteer there at the Depot — afraid I will say the wrong thing or quote facts wrong. Robert is usually there to correct me or to answer questions, so I don’t know why I should be anxious, and especially when we get to make new friends like we did yesterday. I still correspond with a couple of visitors from British Columbia who we met back in 2008 when Robert and I were selling t-shirts to raise funds to have the Depot rebuilt. A nice friendship; a sharing of life. It’s all good…

Be safe, be well and please be happy. Tell those you love that you love them, and if you get a chance, volunteer in your community. It’s a great way to meet other people.

About tehachap

The easiest way to define myself is as a very happily married woman with two sons and two grandsons. My hobbies include reading, writing, sewing, trains (watching, photographing and running them in G scale), and travel. My husband and I are retired and we spend our winters in Arizona. I used to own a secretarial and desktop publishing business, but closed it when my husband retired in 1999. We have truly enjoyed our retirement years, and have fulfilled one of our primary goals in life and that is to own a home overlooking train tracks so we can watch trains 24/7. We are sincerely blessed in this life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Monday, May 23, 2o16

  1. mageb says:

    Don’t be anxious…being a docent just isn’t your natural home, that’s all. Look at all you have gotten done. 🙂 How nice to meet those folks. This was a special thing.

    Like

  2. tehachap says:

    Thanks… that helps. I don’t know what it is — part of me wants to just hibernate in the house and never go out. Then when I get there, I’m still a bit anxious, but I do o.k. and am always happy to talk to people.

    Like

  3. poolagirl says:

    I love reading our guest book!

    Like

Leave a Reply

