Thursday, May 26, 2016

IMG_3986

Surely, I’m not alone in my habit of clipping recipes and collecting cookbooks. Amazing, really, that I have this huge collection of clippings and never do I go to them for a recipe. Likewise, I rarely go to my cookbooks unless it’s for a recipe that I know is in one of the cookbooks in my collection. My ‘go to’ place is the Internet. So why do I still check out the recipes on the back of food packages, calmly cutting them out and adding to my already too large collection?

At this time in my life, I feel the strong urge to clear things out — to pass along, toss out or sell anything that I no longer have a use for. One of those things is definitely my recipe collection. I don’t even want to begin discussing the collection of recipes (complete with photos) residing on my computer. Or, the three recipe boxes that hold 5″x7″ or 3″x5″ recipe cards, neatly filed by subject. I inherited my father’s recipe box and the recipes from a woman I helped care for. I was offered the collection of a close friend’s before she passed away. All I had to do was to pay for the postage. I politely declined. I’m so glad I did.

Years ago, my sisters and I brainstormed that we would create a family cookbook. I still have a couple of the kits that we sent for where all you had to do was supply the recipes and the publishing company would create a bound cookbook for you. Never finished it… it would have required at least one of us to put up the money. None of us had that much of a commitment to the project, notwithstanding the funds to make it happen.

The dilemma at this point is what to do with the box of recipes I have sitting here on my desk. I’m tempted to spend the day with my trash can at hand, going through and tossing the recipes I know I will never use and scanning the ones I want to keep. Yep. Did and done…

Be safe, be well, and please be happy. Take care of yourself and be sure to tell those you love that you love them.

About tehachap

The easiest way to define myself is as a very happily married woman with two sons and two grandsons. My hobbies include reading, writing, sewing, trains (watching, photographing and running them in G scale), and travel. My husband and I are retired and we spend our winters in Arizona. I used to own a secretarial and desktop publishing business, but closed it when my husband retired in 1999. We have truly enjoyed our retirement years, and have fulfilled one of our primary goals in life and that is to own a home overlooking train tracks so we can watch trains 24/7. We are sincerely blessed in this life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Thursday, May 26, 2016

  1. mageb says:

    I gave all my boxed recipes to my daughter. The family ones…I wrote them out, scanned them, and gave everyone a copy.

    Like

Leave a Reply

