Sunday, May 29, 2016

Friendships — they come in different sizes and types. Sometimes we meet people and there’s an instant bonding that takes place; a comfortable feeling you get from being with the person. You don’t question the whys and wherefores, you just enjoy the presence of their being in your life.

I was asked one time by someone I considered a good friend what I got out of our friendship. I hadn’t ever been asked such a question and wondered what prompted the thought. I apparently didn’t respond with the right answers because before long, the friendship died — no cross words, no argument, just a decision on one part to not communicate with one another anymore. I’m o.k. with that. There are times when you have to let go of friendships–your interests change, people move on in their lives–whatever the reason, you accept the change and continue down your own path in life. I still find it strange to have someone ask me what I got out of a friendship. I’ve never questioned it before, always accepting that the connection was there because it was meant to be.

Sometimes, we can look at life a bit too closely, and lose sight of the overall picture–of enjoying the world we live in, appreciating that each of us is different and we each experience things differently. I hope I never lose sight of the big picture.

About tehachap

The easiest way to define myself is as a very happily married woman with two sons and two grandsons. My hobbies include reading, writing, sewing, trains (watching, photographing and running them in G scale), and travel. My husband and I are retired and we spend our winters in Arizona. I used to own a secretarial and desktop publishing business, but closed it when my husband retired in 1999. We have truly enjoyed our retirement years, and have fulfilled one of our primary goals in life and that is to own a home overlooking train tracks so we can watch trains 24/7. We are sincerely blessed in this life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Sunday, May 29, 2016

  1. mageb says:

    You are one I bonded with instantly. 🙂

    Like

    • tehachap says:

      It kind of scared me to feel such a strong bond with you the first time we met. I didn’t want to ‘scare you’ by speaking it out loud because I didn’t even know you nor know if you felt the same connection. I held back and here we are…. Total friendship, kiddo … I love it!

      Like

Leave a Reply

