Tuesday, June 7, 2016

I’m not sure how this page will turn out. I had wanted to shift these photos to the left side of the page, but I couldn’t get the menu to appear. Ah well… That’s an Oriole sitting on the hummingbird feeder, searching for a hole big enough for his beak! And a small preview of the quilt I’m working on. Better photo later in this post.

Yesterday I made a new friend and acquired several Blackberry plants, some Current plants and an Apricot tree. How cool is that? Eventually, her Concord Grape vines will be producing and I’ve promised her some grape jelly if she calls me to come and pick some grapes. The same holds for the currants, her blackberries and her apricots. Oh yes, I’ll be giving her jam, and she’ll never have to buy another jar from the store!

Robert hauled a 12′ x 12″ x 2″ board down the hill to the back patio where he will cut it into walls and end boards for a new raised planter. Whoo hoo!!! We’ll eventually have our truck back and will be able to go to Home Depot and buy a white plastic lattice piece to attach to the back of the box. The berry vines will be trained to climb the lattice, just like they did at our home in San Diego. I can’t wait! One snag to the whole works is that the trees and plants have to be watered twice a week — and we’ll be going to Arizona before you know it. I’ll have to find someone to water my plants… perhaps a teen who wants to earn some extra pocket change? Or a friend?? We shall see — I’ve put the need out there to the Universe and an answer will appear eventually.

IMG_4043

The photo above is that pink and green quilt top I had set aside way back when. I’ve decided to finish it and share it at the Loose Threads meeting next Monday afternoon. Should be fun.

I don’t know how the election went. I have my hopes and intuitions about the outcome but will try to be patient and wait for the official declaration. The media want to be the first to announce the winners and the losers, but it’s not their place. I’ll leave it at that.

Be safe, be well, and please be happy. Be sure to tell those you love that you love them.

 

 

 

About tehachap

The easiest way to define myself is as a very happily married woman with two sons and two grandsons. My hobbies include reading, writing, sewing, trains (watching, photographing and running them in G scale), and travel. My husband and I are retired and we spend our winters in Arizona. I used to own a secretarial and desktop publishing business, but closed it when my husband retired in 1999. We have truly enjoyed our retirement years, and have fulfilled one of our primary goals in life and that is to own a home overlooking train tracks so we can watch trains 24/7. We are sincerely blessed in this life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Tuesday, June 7, 2016

  1. mageb says:

    I like that quilt top. 🙂 How is the train doing?

    Liked by 1 person

    • tehachap says:

      LOL… we’re getting antsy — and friends are starting to volunteer to help us get it moving. We still need about 3 yards of DG to complete the fill and then we can smooth it out and begin to lay some track. Robert has his own schedule for it and I try not to push. It’s been too hot to work outside for more than about an hour at a time so it’s still a work in progress. The eldest son still has our truck (his is in the shop and he doesn’t have the $$ to get it out) so we’re dead in the water so to speak.

      Like

    • tehachap says:

      When I get a couple of sewing projects out of the way I’ll go down and begin staining the layout walls. It’ll look soooo good once that is done. Can’t wait to see track and plants and TRAINS running on it!!

      Like

  2. Musings says:

    Thank you so much for your visit and lovely comment. Your quilt is lovely. I’ve never seen an oriole before. Wow!

    Like

Leave a Reply

