Thursday, June 16, 2016

IMG_4092

IMG_4097

I finished the first item for the Tehachapi Depot Railroad Museum last night. It’s a child’s apron with pockets. The stitching for the pocket separations may not be visible, but the white band is the pocket and it’s separated into three sections. I also made a couple of recipe cards to tuck into the center pocket. I hope Sheryl likes it. I’ll have to work on some shortcuts to making it as this took me the better part of the day to make and it’s a really simple pattern. But truthfully, part of the time was spent preparing the pattern, so I guess it wasn’t all that bad afterall.

I used my fabric for this first one — in case it didn’t turn out very well, I didn’t want to waste the fabric Sheryl had brought. But it actually looks rather nice and I think it’ll be a good item for the shop when made with children’s railroad theme fabrics.

When I was at the Loose Threads quilting group meeting Monday evening, I mentioned that I would be making things for the gift shop and a couple of the quilters mentioned that they’d created railroad quilts to be raffled off in the gift shop. Nice coincidence, and I got the name of the person who hopefully still has the pattern that was used for those railroad quilts. I didn’t get a chance to talk to her as she arrived late, but now I know her name and will make contact with her eventually. I’d like to get the pattern so I can make a couple of train quilts.

Tomorrow is the monthly breakfast for the Signal Crew and their wives. We meet once a month to have breakfast and celebrate any birthdays that fall in that month. Two couples are traveling out of state so we’ll be four people shorter tomorrow. There’s usually about 16 to 18 of us when we get together. It’s a great group of friends.

Well, it’s late and I’m ready to get down the hall to bed so will close this with blessings to all. Be safe, take care of yourself, and remember that you are an important part of this world. Be sure to tell those you love that you love them — love endures forever.

About tehachap

The easiest way to define myself is as a very happily married woman with two sons and two grandsons. My hobbies include reading, writing, sewing, trains (watching, photographing and running them in G scale), and travel. My husband and I are retired and we spend our winters in Arizona. I used to own a secretarial and desktop publishing business, but closed it when my husband retired in 1999. We have truly enjoyed our retirement years, and have fulfilled one of our primary goals in life and that is to own a home overlooking train tracks so we can watch trains 24/7. We are sincerely blessed in this life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

