Friday, June 24, 2016

I tried to write this a while ago, but found I didn’t know how to begin. My maternal cousin Dossie passed away last night from lung cancer. Tonight, my half-sister Barbara is passing from Parkinson’s disease. These two grew up together and were like sisters, though biologically, they were cousins. Now, they will be dying within a day of one another. We never know…

I had heard some time ago that Dossie possibly had breast cancer. Last night I discovered she was dying of lung cancer — and within hours, I learned that she was gone and my sister Barb, who had been suffering with Parkinson’s disease for years, was following her. My sister has been in hospice care for more than two years.

So many mixed feelings… sadness strongest among them.

Be safe, be well, be happy. Know that life is precious and can turn on a dime.

About tehachap

The easiest way to define myself is as a very happily married woman with two sons and two grandsons. My hobbies include reading, writing, sewing, trains (watching, photographing and running them in G scale), and travel. My husband and I are retired and we spend our winters in Arizona. I used to own a secretarial and desktop publishing business, but closed it when my husband retired in 1999. We have truly enjoyed our retirement years, and have fulfilled one of our primary goals in life and that is to own a home overlooking train tracks so we can watch trains 24/7. We are sincerely blessed in this life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Friday, June 24, 2016

  1. wyndes says:

    I’m so sorry for your losses, Carol. I hope that you’ll be able to spend some time with family as you grieve.

    Like

  2. mageb says:

    You know I care. I’m so sorry. Hugs.

    Like

  3. mageb says:

    Hope you are doing a little better. More hugs.

    Like

  4. tehachap says:

    I am doing better — thank you!! Hugs back at you…

    Like

Leave a Reply

