Tuesday, July 5, 2016

One of my absolute favorite meals is a skillet full of vegetables. If I have it on hand, I fry up a bit of diced bacon or sausage (just for flavor) and add in whatever vegetables I have on hand — diced onion, celery, fresh or canned tomatoes (half a can is good — save the rest for spaghetti sauce), slivered carrots, zucchini, and cabbage. Sometimes, I’ve diced potato and added it if I don’t have many other veggies. Then I break up a chicken flavor Top Ramen, add water to cover, stir in the spice packet from the ramen and simmer for 8-10 min. For seasoning, I add garlic salt, parsley, and Italian seasoning, salt and ground pepper. I know, there’s a lot of salt in the ramen noodle packet, but there’s a lot of veggies that will take that up and more. This will feed me for a couple of days. Delicious…

IMG_4116

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I have a bowl of cleaned strawberries that I will be making into freezer jam later today. And, I have one Zucchini left and that will be made into Zucchini bread! Oh, and two ripe avocados and some of the remaining fresh tomatoes that didn’t go into my skillet meal above, will make an outstanding Pico de Gallo! Nothing like fresh fruits and veggies!

Be safe, be well and be happy. Enjoy your life — even if you have problems, don’t let them consume your thoughts every minute of the day. Stop and find something positive to dwell on. You’ll be happier and healthier for it. Be sure to tell those you love that you love them. Life is precious.

 

 

 

 

About tehachap

The easiest way to define myself is as a very happily married woman with two sons and two grandsons. My hobbies include reading, writing, sewing, trains (watching, photographing and running them in G scale), and travel. My husband and I are retired and we spend our winters in Arizona. I used to own a secretarial and desktop publishing business, but closed it when my husband retired in 1999. We have truly enjoyed our retirement years, and have fulfilled one of our primary goals in life and that is to own a home overlooking train tracks so we can watch trains 24/7. We are sincerely blessed in this life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Tuesday, July 5, 2016

  1. mageb says:

    That looks so good. It’s much like the Vietnamese Pha. Add a dash of hot sauce too.
    Put the leftover canned tomatoes, or fresh, with a can of beans, two slices of cooked and diced bacon, and a dash of sugar. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • tehachap says:

      That sounds good! My sister used to make a dish with green beans, mushrooms and ground beef. It had a brown gravy base–was really very good. I’m more of a vegetarian these days than I ever was in my younger years.

      Like

Leave a Reply

