Thursday, July 7, 2016

Fresh Strawberry Jam is soooo good. It beats any brand on a store shelf. I used 4 cups of strawberries and 4 nectarines I had that were ripe (that’s the light colored bits floating in the strawberry mixture). My only problem is that I’ve given away all of my canning jars so this will have to be cooIMG_4123led down and packed into plastic containers and put into the freezer.

I used Splenda instead of sugar, so it’s diabetic friendly and low-calorie for yours truly.

I should get about 2-3 pints out of this batch. The berries are courtesy of a friend whose son brought her a flat straight from the field. She shared the flat with me and I let them sit in the refrigerator too long. But I’m not about to toss out such lovely berries — none of them had gone bad, they were just overripe. Here’s a link to the web site that has instructions for making jam without pectin:

http://www.thekitchn.com/how-to-make-basic-fruit-jam-cooking-lessons-from-the-kitchn-193560

Well, it’s been a productive day. I got my Zucchini bread baked (and it’s all given away except for the half a loaf from our breakfast, and now I have strawberry jam to put up. I think I’ll take the rest of the day off and read.

Blessings to all. Be safe, be well, and be happy. Be sure to tell those you love that you love them.

About tehachap

The easiest way to define myself is as a very happily married woman with two sons and two grandsons. My hobbies include reading, writing, sewing, trains (watching, photographing and running them in G scale), and travel. My husband and I are retired and we spend our winters in Arizona. I used to own a secretarial and desktop publishing business, but closed it when my husband retired in 1999. We have truly enjoyed our retirement years, and have fulfilled one of our primary goals in life and that is to own a home overlooking train tracks so we can watch trains 24/7. We are sincerely blessed in this life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Thursday, July 7, 2016

  1. poolagirl says:

    WANT!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

