Saturday, August 6, 2016

IMG_4159This is a panel that I used to create a Quillo to be sold at the Tehachapi Depot Railroad Museum Gift Shop. I didn’t take a photo of the completed Quillo because I was disappointed in the way it turned out. I have a Quillo that my step-mother-in-law bought for us many, many years ago and I was trying to use it as a guide while creating this one. The big difference is that the one I own was bigger than the panel I had to work with. Consequently, when the quilt is folded up into a pillow, it isn’t very full. But it’s attractive, and I’m hoping that someone will want to buy it. I have a couple more panels and don’t know whether I’ll attempt another Quillo or just turn them into wall hangings. Will have to discuss it with the Gift Shop manager.

IMG_4167

And I completed this apron for the young girl who will be cleaning the Depot bi-weekly starting this next week. I haven’t a clue what size she is, so I’m hoping it will fit her. I received a request for deep pockets so deep pockets is what she’s getting. It did turn out nice…

The friend who gave me blackberry and black currant plants sent me a message the other day and told me to come pick blackberries at her place. Off I went with two large containers. I came home with enough to make a blackberry cobbler. It was fantastic — I used Splenda instead of sugar and you couldn’t tell the difference. Awesome. I took some to my friend and missed seeing her at her house, so I hung the bag (with the cobbler in a container) on her kitchen doorknob. I sent her a message asking her if she’d found her cobbler and she said no — she’d gone in and out through the front door and completely missed it. When she did retrieve it, it had been warmed by the afternoon sun and was like it was fresh out of the oven! Haven’t had blackberry cobbler in soooo long.

Well, it’s late and I really do need to get to bed so will close with blessings for all. Be safe, be well and please be happy. Be sure to tell those you love that you love them.

About tehachap

The easiest way to define myself is as a very happily married woman with two sons and two grandsons. My hobbies include reading, writing, sewing, trains (watching, photographing and running them in G scale), and travel. My husband and I are retired and we spend our winters in Arizona. I used to own a secretarial and desktop publishing business, but closed it when my husband retired in 1999. We have truly enjoyed our retirement years, and have fulfilled one of our primary goals in life and that is to own a home overlooking train tracks so we can watch trains 24/7. We are sincerely blessed in this life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Saturday, August 6, 2016

  1. mageb says:

    What fun. I can do berries with lots of Splenda to cut the acid.
    That panel would be nice as the center of a train quilt. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

