Wednesday, August 31, 2016

My serger arrived this afternoon!! I was at the library just this afternoon, picking up four more books on learning to operate a serger. I knew that when my serger arrived it would have the manual with it, but I figured the more I read up on this type of machine, the more comfortable I would feel once mine arrived.

When we opened the box, the first thing we saw was batting — the serger had been set in the box surrounded by cones and cones of thread, and covered snugly with batting. I have to say that although I bought this machine online, it felt like Christmas and that I had just opened an early Christmas present. I could feel the warmth of the woman who owned it previously–truly, just a warm, fuzzy feeling of happiness. I’ve told her daughter and her husband that I will think of her whenever I use the machine. I am blessed… I never did figure out how I came across the posting about the serger being for sale. The woman’s daughter had asked a friend to post it on some of her sewing lists and I happened to subscribe to one of the lists. The post was over a month old so I figured everything was gone (there was also an embroidery machine that I really wasn’t interested in owning). The serger was still available! Oh my… then came the decision to go ahead and buy it. It’s in beautiful condition and I know I’ll get many hours of happy usage out of it.

I happened to be sitting at my computer a bit ago, just staring out at the view of the sun going down on the mountain across the way when DH came in and asked me if I was alright. I said, yes, it’s just another day is almost finished and I was watching the view and thinking that I felt like writing. He patted me on the back and said, “Get to writing! I’ve told you for years you can write a book.” I think he misunderstood me… LOL

Update on the Sunset Pacific Ry — We were going to see the younger son and grandsons this coming weekend, but it’s been put off for a few weeks. Dan Tufts, owner of Centerline Concrete Cutting Company, is a dear friend of ours and has been very helpful to us in the past, bringing his skip loader over and helping to move DG from the street down to the back yard and into the layout. We were going to take delivery of five more yards of DG for this upcoming Labor Day weekend, but Dan is going to be busy so we’re putting it off until it’s a convenient time for him. The amount of labor saved by using a skip loader is well worth the wait.

I have an apron cut out for a young volunteer at the Depot, and I’ll have to see how much of it can be sewn using my new-to-me serger. I have also decided to sell my Viking and buy another Bernina. I’ve done a bit of research and have found a Bernina dealer that accepts trade-ins. If I don’t sell the machine by next week, we’ll take a drive down to North Hills to Sewing Machine Warehouse. This company sells Bernina, Viking, Brother, Juki and Janome, so I’m sure to find something at a good price.

Be safe, be well and please be happy. Be sure to tell those you love that you love them. I haven’t written about it, but for several months I quit speaking with my younger sister. It took time for me to adjust and accept what she did that upset me. The other day I sent her an e-mail, explaining why I got mad at her and telling her I was sorry. She responded and we’re working on getting beyond the situation, letting bygones be bygones.

About tehachap

The easiest way to define myself is as a very happily married woman with two sons and two grandsons. My hobbies include reading, writing, sewing, trains (watching, photographing and running them in G scale), and travel. My husband and I are retired and we spend our winters in Arizona. I used to own a secretarial and desktop publishing business, but closed it when my husband retired in 1999. We have truly enjoyed our retirement years, and have fulfilled one of our primary goals in life and that is to own a home overlooking train tracks so we can watch trains 24/7. We are sincerely blessed in this life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Wednesday, August 31, 2016

  1. mageb says:

    Are you having fun yet?

    Like

    • tehachap says:

      Well, considering that the serger arrived, YES, but that I somehow got it un-threaded NO! Considering that my Bernina is back in the shop NO! Considering that my foot is healing YES! I stubbed my little toe on my ironing board several days ago and I really think I broke a small bone in my foot. Colorful doesn’t begin to describe my poor toes and foot. I think I was on it a bit too much yesterday so it’s bothering me this morning. It’s always something– but my car will hopefully be out of the body shop some time today so I’ll have my own wheels back–HAPPINESS IS! Life is good…

      Like

Leave a Reply

