Thursday, September 22, 2016

img_4277 First things first — we had house guests from Switzerland this past Sunday evening. As before, Ruedi brought me  several Swiss chocolate bars. This time he’d created a special photo wrap for the five large chocolate bars. I’ve tried to be very good about devouring them, only eating a couple of squares a day–but I have to tell you it’s been hard to stop at just a couple of squares. Their chocolate is far superior to anything made here in the U.S.

And as Ruedi has done in the past, he brought a new friend with him on the trip. Come to find out, this friend (Peter) is a Lionel Collector and Repairman. He had slides of his collection and his layout. Very impressive, and when I happened to see a picture that was identical to the fabric I used in a quillow I had recently made for the Tehachapi Depot Railroad Museum’s gift shop, I quickly called Sheryl P. (the Depot gift shop manager) to see if it would be possible to purchase one of the two remaining fabric panels as a gift for Peter. We agreed on a price and I quickly separated the two panels and got the one ready to give to Peter as a parting gift. A few minutes later, the house phone rang and it was Sheryl’s husband, Doug. He quickly invited our house guests to HIS home to check out his Lionel trains. It was a very impromptu, spur of the moment thing that just made the day for all involved.

img_20160922_0002a

At Sheryl and Doug’s home, she and I left the guys to their trains and we proceeded to the house for coffee. We sat outside and although it was a bit warmer than it had been the day before, it was still nice out. After a bit, we saw the guys emerging from the shop on the upper level of their back yard so I knew it was time to go. Ruedi insisted on taking photos of everyone, and then we took one of Ruedi and Peter holding a copy of The Loop newspaper. When I get the image from Ruedi, I’ll submit it to the Loop for inclusion in one of their issues. The front page had photos and a story about the yearly migration of the Turkey Vultures. Our friends had never seen vultures like this.

I’ve been sewing on a dress for the Dress A Girl Around the World program. It’s finished except for sewing on the pockets. A woman in Arizona gave me a pattern for the little pocket dolls that she used to make to include with the dresses that were made for this same program there in Roadhaven. I have the pattern some where in my stash — will have to find it and perhaps make a few dolls to go in the pockets of the dresses.

img_4279

Other than sewing, this morning I went to a friend’s home and picked Concord Grapes! And tonight I made Concord Grape Jelly!

img_4281

I have enough grapes pressed to make another batch of jelly, and yet a third batch of grapes that have been washed and cleaned, waiting in the refrigerator. I’m going to try my hand at making Grape Cordial with the batch in the refrigerator. I love Cordials and I’ve found a recipe that’s fairly simple. I just need the containers, which I will purchase tomorrow.

img_4283

Not much else to report — be safe, be well, and be happy. Be sure to tell those you love that you love them!

 

About tehachap

The easiest way to define myself is as a very happily married woman with two sons and two grandsons. My hobbies include reading, writing, sewing, trains (watching, photographing and running them in G scale), and travel. My husband and I are retired and we spend our winters in Arizona. I used to own a secretarial and desktop publishing business, but closed it when my husband retired in 1999. We have truly enjoyed our retirement years, and have fulfilled one of our primary goals in life and that is to own a home overlooking train tracks so we can watch trains 24/7. We are sincerely blessed in this life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Thursday, September 22, 2016

  1. mageb says:

    Boy are you being creative. I love it.

    Like

Leave a Reply

