Day 1 — NAJOWRIMO OCTOBER ’16

ctiim5nxyaarq8ma

This will be much easier than in the past because I know I can do this. The first time I tried writing every day for a solid month, I felt pressure because I had no idea what I could write about. But eventually, I relaxed and just allowed the words to flow.

Thankfully, I don’t have a quota to meet each day — just the promise to write daily. Some people still write in a paper journal with a pen. Some even use a fountain pen. I have a Shaeffer cartridge fountain pen set that I’ve had for years.

Naturally,sheaffer-cartridge-fountain-pen I couldn’t locate my own cartridge fountain pen, but this one looks close enough. I’m always amazed at how things just disappear when you begin to look for them. Items that have laid about for eons suddenly aren’t in the last place you remember seeing them. I wonder if Murphy’s Law enters into situations like this.

Onward and upward, the family went out for dinner tonight. We went to Domingo’s and ran into friends as they were leaving the restaurant. Introductions were made all around, and once we were out of earshot, I asked Robert if he remembered the couple. He said they looked familiar, but it wasn’t until I told him their names that he truly remembered knowing them. We have mutual friends at the Depot, and we typically see them at our New Year’s celebratory dinner at the Great Wall Chinese Buffet restaurant on January 1st of each new year. The food was excellent, as was the service. I tipped 20% as the latest report says is the norm for tipping now. There were five of us, the service was especially prompt and the food hot and tasty, so the tip was well-deserved.

I pulled some railroad themed pillow panels out of the cupboard and will be making pillows for sale in the Depot gift shop. I received my order of black and red broadcloth fabric in the mail yesterday so I’m set for backing fabrics. I don’t know whether to buy pillow forms or to use fiberfill. I’ll have to check with the gift shop manager and see what she wants me to use.

Sunset Pacific Ry. Update — We added another five yards of decomposed granite to the layout and it was like spitting in the Pacific Ocean. We are still a good 15 yards short of filling the layout up to the required depth. The boys have determined that they will get together on the weekend of the 23rd and ‘get ‘er done’. They’ve sort of taken over the project for the interim until Robert’s eye surgeries are over and done with. By that time, it’ll be time to leave for Arizona for the winter.

Here the guys are checking out the depth and discussing their next step–cutting five inches off the top of the wall. This will reduce the amount of decomposed granite that is needed and will hopefully allow guests to see over the top of the layout to the train tracks in the valley below.

img_4300a

That’s all for now. See you tomorrow. Until then, be safe, be well, and please be happy. Be sure to tell those you love that you love them.

 

 

About tehachap

The easiest way to define myself is as a very happily married woman with two sons and two grandsons. My hobbies include reading, writing, sewing, trains (watching, photographing and running them in G scale), and travel. My husband and I are retired and we spend our winters in Arizona. I used to own a secretarial and desktop publishing business, but closed it when my husband retired in 1999. We have truly enjoyed our retirement years, and have fulfilled one of our primary goals in life and that is to own a home overlooking train tracks so we can watch trains 24/7. We are sincerely blessed in this life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

