DAY 12 NAJOWRIMO October 12, 2016

clipboard01Making a list and checking it twice … I know, that’s Christmas-talk, but I also have a feeling of working against a deadline of sorts and I need to stay focused. I have things that I need to finish for the Depot gift shop, and I also need to start working on things I want to make as Christmas gifts. We’ll be going to AZ before long and I want to have things organized for that move as well.

Packing for the winter in Arizona is a hit or miss situation. You can’t ever know what you’ll want to take with you (other than clothes, books to donate to the park library, etc.). I also take a certain amount of foodstuff, like coffee (which will go stale if left here) or peanut butter (which may go rancid, sitting on a shelf in the pantry, when it could be used there in Arizona). Plus, these particular items are pricey — coffee is usually about $7 for a 12 oz. package (remember when we used to get a pound for less than  $5?? Peanut butter is almost $10 in the large jar (which I always buy, because we do use that much of it).

When we arrive there at the house, I want to be sure we have enough coffee for at least the first pot, and if I bring peanut butter and bread or crackers, we’ll have a meal/snack that will hold us until I can get to the store and make my first of the season stock-up. There’s always a bit of anticipation when we go — it’s reminiscent of the time when I worked at setting up our first apartment; making decisions on what meals I’ll want to fix, and what things I’ll need to prepare for our afternoon tea-time gatherings with the neighbors.

I also have to decide if I want to take my Bernina 1008 sewing machine this time or just trust that I will find a second machine to be left there when we return to Tehachapi next year. I have a machine picked out that can be ordered online and I think I’ll wind up purchasing it, but I want to wait and see what I can find there in Arizona.

Decisions, decisions, decisions. Just the reason I need to make a list and be checking it twice!

That’s it for today — I really do need to get busy. Robert has his final check-up with the eye surgeon this afternoon and we’ll be scheduling the surgery for his other eye. I’m hoping that we can get a date early in November. We shall see… Meanwhile, be safe, be well, and please be happy. Be grateful for every part of your life for it was all meant to be. And be sure to tell those you love that you love them because we all need to know that we are loved.

About tehachap

The easiest way to define myself is as a very happily married woman with two sons and two grandsons. My hobbies include reading, writing, sewing, trains (watching, photographing and running them in G scale), and travel. My husband and I are retired and we spend our winters in Arizona. I used to own a secretarial and desktop publishing business, but closed it when my husband retired in 1999. We have truly enjoyed our retirement years, and have fulfilled one of our primary goals in life and that is to own a home overlooking train tracks so we can watch trains 24/7. We are sincerely blessed in this life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to DAY 12 NAJOWRIMO October 12, 2016

  1. mageb says:

    It’s so much fun reading your plans. You two will have a warm winter in AZ, and I’ll read about it here. What fun. Take the Bernina. 🙂

    Like

    • tehachap says:

      We had a good visit with the eye surgeon — his other eye surgery is scheduled for Nov. 15th so we’ll be able to make it to AZ the first week of Dec. if all goes as well as it did for this first surgery. Happiness is ….

      Like

Leave a Reply

