DAY 14 NAJOWRIMO October 14, 2016

There’s a Facebook list called For Sale in Tehachapi, and I watch it fairly regularly. That’s where I found the office size refrigerator for downstairs at half price. Last night I was cruising the list and I found a Filipino woman selling egg rolls at 25/$10. Oh my word… I jumped on it and ordered 25 Chicken and 25 Vegetable. She’ll be here in a couple of hours and they’ll still be hot and ready to eat. When we lived in San Diego, my sisters and I would drive down to Chula Vista where there was a large Filipino population, with numerous restaurants that served Pancit noodles, Lumpia and Egg Rolls. We were spoiled but didn’t realize it at the time. We also had a Mexican woman who would drive around our neighborhood, selling homemade tamales from her truck. THAT was another great treat for us. The woman had the tamales in a hot box so they were steaming hot when she handed them over to me at my door. Memories… ahhh.

A week or so ago, I spotted an ad on the same list for fresh eggs. I contacted the woman and then drove out to her home on Banducci Rd. We chatted and I bought a flat of large brown eggs plus a dozen of extra large brown eggs. I’m at the tail end of those eggs, so will have to give her a call and arrange to buy another flat. I enjoy buying my food from local sources; it gives my neighbors a bit of extra income and the produce is always fresher than what I would find in the stores.

I also spotted a camper for sale on the list last night. It looked like an older camper but was in decent shape. The price was $1,000.00, and I was definitely interested. I showed it to Robert and he said, No, he didn’t want a camper. I told him we could go places — and he replied that he didn’t want to go anywhere right now. I told him I missed going camping and he merely replied that he didn’t want to buy anything unless it was absolutely necessary. Well, darn. Ah well, we’ll be going to Arizona before too much longer and I’ll get my traveling itch scratched then.

Meanwhile, I’m keeping a log of the trains that pass by during the day. When we volunteer at the Depot, people are always asking if there’s a schedule of when the trains run. We tell them  that they run whenever they want and there’s no true set schedule. But I figured if I kept a log for a few days, and typed it up, it could be made available at the Depot for anyone who wants to know what times the trains come through. They’re actually fairly predictable in a way — certain trains run at pretty much the same time every day except for Mondays, which is a track maintenance day. So far, we’ve had 5 trains come through since 8:30 a.m. and it’s 10:12 a.m. right now. That’s pretty good… I talk to people who live in Tehachapi and who hate the trains for two reasons — they hold up traffic moving through town, and they’re noisy at night when people are trying to sleep. Engineers are required to blow their horn before every road crossing and if people live fairly close to these crossings, they’re going to hear the horns louder than other people do. Notwithstanding, at night the air is different — it’s quieter and the sound is magnified to an extent. But it’s necessary for safety of the train crew and for people who travel across the tracks.

Be safe, be well, and please be happy. Be sure to tell those you love that you love them. Life can be a struggle at times, but it can also be filled with wonder and beauty. Blessings to you, and may your struggles always be less than the beauty you find in life.

 

 

About tehachap

The easiest way to define myself is as a very happily married woman with two sons and two grandsons. My hobbies include reading, writing, sewing, trains (watching, photographing and running them in G scale), and travel. My husband and I are retired and we spend our winters in Arizona. I used to own a secretarial and desktop publishing business, but closed it when my husband retired in 1999. We have truly enjoyed our retirement years, and have fulfilled one of our primary goals in life and that is to own a home overlooking train tracks so we can watch trains 24/7. We are sincerely blessed in this life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

