DAY 21 NAJOWRIMO October 21, 2016

pumpkin-candle-matI received this pattern in the mail yesterday and decided it would make a nice centerpiece for a Thanksgiving table. It didn’t look all that difficult to make, either. I pulled fabrics from my stash, packed up my sewing machine and off I went to the Loose Threads meeting last night.

Our meetings always include a dinner and dessert. We each take turns, and last month was my turn. I brought Foccacia bread, salad and lasagne with a banana pudding dessert. Last night, we had a very nice dinner of Pot Roast with mixed cabbage salad, and Pumpkin Cheesecake for dessert. I passed on the cheesecake as I’m a slow eater and everyone had finished their dinner and their dessert by the time I was finishing my meal. Next we did Show & Tell, where we shared the things we’d made since the last meeting. At the end of Show & Tell, a drawing is held between all of the quilters who bring something to share. Only one other woman brought something to share. She had a couple of quilt tops, one of which was a king-size pieced Butterfly quilt. It was done with a jelly roll of batik fabrics in yellow, pink and peach colors, and with the black background fabric it was stunning. It was my turn next, and I showed photos of the blue strip quilt I had made for the woman in the hospital in the Philippines, my steering wheel cover, the one pillow of a set that I made for the Tehachapi Depot Railroad Museum Gift Shop, and the two Dress A Girl Around the World dresses. And since the other quilter had already won a gift certificate previously, I was the winner of a $25 gift certificate to a local quilt shop. Nice!!

img_4273a

I managed to get all of the pieces cut out for my Pumpkin Candle Mat, and got one segment sewn before it was time to close up shop and head for home. When I got home, I fixed Robert a bit of dinner and he let me know that Carl had been over to visit but since I wasn’t home to take care of him, he just ignored Carl until he went away. I turned on the light to the deck and within about 5 minutes, Carl was there at the sliding glass door, pacing back and forth and rubbing his cheeks on the door frame. That cat is spoiled rotten! But we love him. I fed him some smoked turkey breast and a few bits of cat treat and when he’d cleaned his plate, he was still walking around, rubbing everything and everyone in sight. So I put a bit more kitty treat in his dish. He munched the kitty treat and took off like a shot for the outdoors. Sooo funny.

I was really tired last night so headed to bed fairly early — about 10:15 p.m. and woke up at 1:15 a.m. for my nightly potty break. Then I woke again at 4:30 a.m. and couldn’t sleep any longer. I’m tired now — it’s 6:12 a.m. and I think I’ll head to the couch for a cat-nap before our electrician comes at 8:30 a.m. to change out the lights over the kitchen counter.

Be safe, be well, and please be happy. The 2016 Presidential election will be over soon, and we can all go back to what we were doing before the campaigning began. Be sure to tell those you love that you love them, and when it’s your turn to go to the polls and cast your vote, please vote. We need every vote during this critical time in our lives.

 

About tehachap

The easiest way to define myself is as a very happily married woman with two sons and two grandsons. My hobbies include reading, writing, sewing, trains (watching, photographing and running them in G scale), and travel. My husband and I are retired and we spend our winters in Arizona. I used to own a secretarial and desktop publishing business, but closed it when my husband retired in 1999. We have truly enjoyed our retirement years, and have fulfilled one of our primary goals in life and that is to own a home overlooking train tracks so we can watch trains 24/7. We are sincerely blessed in this life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to DAY 21 NAJOWRIMO October 21, 2016

  1. mageb says:

    Boy, you sure have been sweingly busy. I have made a few blocks, and I have torn apart a few blocks. LOL I did get all my loose pictures scanned and put away. Great progress there.

    Like

    • tehachap says:

      I keep telling myself that I need to do something with all of the photos I have on my hard drive but I just keep adding them. 😕 I have them organized by year, but then I have to remember what year the project or person was photographed in and my retrieval program isn’t as reliable as it used to be. Needless to say, my computer hard drive remains a virtual swamp.

      Like

Leave a Reply

