DAY 27 NAJOWRIMO October 27, 2016

I missed posting yesterday — we were busy with our company and by last night I was too tired to think, much less write. We’ve had an extremely good visit with our friends. They’re a lot of fun to be with, and we have a number of interests in common, not the least of which is aimg_4362 love of trains.

While I was beginning to write this post, the phone rang and it was the youngest son. About that time, I looked out the window and there was a woodpecker, sitting on the bracket for the hummingbird feeder, drinking out of the moat that’s attached to the top of the feeder. Next thing I knew, a second bird arrived to drink, and then a third arrived. I told my son to hold on and tried to quietly lay the phone down and then he wanted to speak to his dad — so when I raised my arm to call out for his dad, one of the woodpeckers flew away, and by the time Robert came to the phone, all of the woodpeckers had flown away. But I was able to manage one good photo of a woodpecker, which I will share with you now.

When Robin and Rhonda told us about the earthquakes that have besieged their country since 2011, and specifically their city of Christchurch, New Zealand, we were amazed at the devastation done. Part of land in their city has been destroyed by liquefaction and is now unsafe to build on.  Rhonda said that a number of people were still sharing homes with family or friends, and some were still sleeping in their cars. She said they had learned some valuable lessons from the disaster, which are good reminders to anyone who lives in an area that is at risk for natural disasters (earthquakes, tornadoes or hurricanes) –1) always have some cash on hand (if the power goes out, you have no way to obtain cash from an ATM, or even from a bank since most banks are run by computer,  2) always make sure your car has  a full tank of gas and emergency supplies in it (with the power out, the gasoline pumps won’t be able to pump gas), and 3) keep emergency water and foodstuff on hand at home.

We had a very enjoyable dinner at the Great Wall last evening, with several of our friends from here in town in attendance. We like going to the Great Wall with friends — and the food was especially good last night. We got home fairly early, and because there wasn’t anything worth watching on t.v., I put on a Trains of America DVD and before long, half of us were comatose and missing the train action completely! Excellent Chinese food! Early to bed last night, we all had a good night’s sleep, so we were ready to tackle the day this morning.

Nothing else to report — I have pants to shorten for a friend, and I stopped in at Debbie’s and returned the clips that were supposed to keep bobbin and thread spool together. The clips didn’t fit right so I returned them for credit and bought a quilt panel that has a camper/camping theme to it. I want to make it up for our next motorhome or 5th wheel trailer.

Be safe, be well, and please be happy. Be sure to tell those you love that you love them.

 

About tehachap

The easiest way to define myself is as a very happily married woman with two sons and two grandsons. My hobbies include reading, writing, sewing, trains (watching, photographing and running them in G scale), and travel. My husband and I are retired and we spend our winters in Arizona. I used to own a secretarial and desktop publishing business, but closed it when my husband retired in 1999. We have truly enjoyed our retirement years, and have fulfilled one of our primary goals in life and that is to own a home overlooking train tracks so we can watch trains 24/7. We are sincerely blessed in this life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

