Tuesday, November 1, 2016

Cold and ugly this morning! Brrrr… Looks like an “Oatmeal for Breakfast” kind of morning–it’s a mere 40 degrees on the deck!

img_4375

The hummingbirds don’img_4376t seem to mind, however. They’re tanking up to get their day going. I made a cup of instant Cappucino coffee this morning, but Robert’s up now and is putting on a pot of coffee, so I’ll get my regular caffeine fix in a bit.

I woke around 4 a.m. and couldn’t get back to sleep, so I got up and got my day going.

I’m still working on quilting the train quilt for the gift shop. I only have a few more places left to quilt and then I’ll be able to work on the binding. Today is a Signal Crew work day at the Depot and the guys are going to Bakersfield to acquire another signal for the signal garden at the Depot, so I’ll be without wheels for the morning. That’s o.k. I have nowhere I really need to go and it’s looks to be too cold to go anywhere anyway.

I received a CARE package from my younger sister yesterday–it had a soft-bound locomotive book for Robert and yards and yards of fabric for me. I made decisions on what to do with the fabrics as I went through them. Several will make nice dresses for Dress A Girl Around the World. Other pieces will work as backings for quilts for the Depot gift shop. Nice!!

There was also a partially finished hexagon quilt top. There were 48 completed hexagon ‘flowers’ and over 400 cut hexagon pieces yet to be sewn. What a project to inherit!! Also included was a remnant of a hand pieced quilt top. It’s in very bad condition and I don’t know what I’ll do with it, but feel the need to salvage it somehow.

Be safe, be well, and please be happy. Be sure to tell those you love that you love them.

 

 

 

About tehachap

The easiest way to define myself is as a very happily married woman with two sons and two grandsons. My hobbies include reading, writing, sewing, trains (watching, photographing and running them in G scale), and travel. My husband and I are retired and we spend our winters in Arizona. I used to own a secretarial and desktop publishing business, but closed it when my husband retired in 1999. We have truly enjoyed our retirement years, and have fulfilled one of our primary goals in life and that is to own a home overlooking train tracks so we can watch trains 24/7. We are sincerely blessed in this life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Tuesday, November 1, 2016

  1. mageb says:

    Are you joining me for NOJOMO this year? LOL
    I am so loathe to go down and sew today. Everything I am touching turns to gar-bage.

    Like

  2. tehachap says:

    What is NOJOMO? When my sewing turns to the brown stuff, I quit and go read–or play games on the computer. It’s not worth the frustration. “Taking a break here, boss!” (From Cool Hand Luke)

    Like

Leave a Reply

