Monday, December 5, 2016

peanut-butter-surprisesLast Christmas, I was just barely out of physical therapy for a broken shoulder so I did no baking nor candy making. This year I hope to make up for the lack of goodies I typically make for gift-giving at Christmas.

I went to my all-time favorite cookbook, the “Buhler Centennial Cookbook”, a gift many years ago from my sister-in-law in Buhler, Kansas. She helped put the cookbook together so a number of her recipes are included within its pages. I wanted the recipe for “Buckeyes” — those balls of sugar and peanut butter, covered in chocolate coating. What I found first was a recipe (shown above) that intrigued me. I happened to have all of the ingredients and wondered if the candy would truly taste like a Butterfinger bar. Oh my, yes, it does. I used the non-stick foil rather than parchment, but wound up putting the candies on a wire rack to drip (on more non-stick foil) rather than setting them on parchment. Then I chilled them in the refrigerator for 10 min. to set the chocolate coating. Placed into white paper candy cups, I have my first item for my Christmas trays.

Today I plan on baking a couple different types of cookies. I also need to get out to my garage to see if I still have some of the Christmas tins I had stored there a couple of years ago. Hopefully, they’re still there–otherwise, I’ll have to go to the dollar store and buy some. I have a couple of people I need to send Christmas goodie packages to and the tins would be perfect.

I’m early in the game for once — I have 95% of my Christmas cards mailed out (I ran out of envelopes, but the new shipment should arrive today), have my ingredients for my Christmas baking, and it’s only the 5th of the month!! Whoo hoo! I have also finished 14 Christmas ornaments to put into the Christmas cards for close friends.

I also need to do a bit of research online to see what the animal is for the Chinese New Year and create my invitations for our annual New Year’s Chinese food feast at the Great Wall restaurant here in town. It’s a wonderful tradition that Robert and I brought with us when we moved here 10 years ago. Our friends even continued the tradition without us one New Year’s when we were in Arizona and couldn’t make it back for the celebration. They have taken our tradition to heart and we love it! I always create some sort of small token gift for them — I started out making bookmarks, but after a couple of years, it was kindly suggested that they had enough bookmarks, so I began looking for other things to make as a memento of the occasion. I have plenty of time, but will come up with something new for this year’s event.

We are supposed to get snow today, but the skies don’t look like that will happen. I enjoy watching the snow fall and seeing it crested on the mountains across the way, but don’t like driving in it. But I can’t pick where the snow will fall, so will just tolerate it and be more careful when I drive.

Be safe, be well, and please be happy. Be sure to remind those you love that you love them. Love is the most important emotion we can ever feel in life–it is also the only thing we take with us when we pass over.

About tehachap

The easiest way to define myself is as a very happily married woman with two sons and two grandsons. My hobbies include reading, writing, sewing, trains (watching, photographing and running them in G scale), and travel. My husband and I are retired and we spend our winters in Arizona. I used to own a secretarial and desktop publishing business, but closed it when my husband retired in 1999. We have truly enjoyed our retirement years, and have fulfilled one of our primary goals in life and that is to own a home overlooking train tracks so we can watch trains 24/7. We are sincerely blessed in this life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Monday, December 5, 2016

  1. mageb says:

    So glad you are settling in up there for the holiday. Is the other kidney in good shape? And is the cough gone? I think good thoughts your way every day.

    Like

    • tehachap says:

      His other kidney is functioning at 98% and appears to be good. He still has his cough and I have a bit of a catch/unproductive cough from time to time. These bugs always kick my asthma up. :/ We’re hanging in there.

      Like

  2. mageb says:

    I’m really coughing and called the doc. 4 weeks is enough.
    Glad he has 98% function.
    Now…try my dessert recipe….for Robert, use only 5 cookies.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

