Tuesday, January 17, 2017

104_0037This is one of the two larger quilts I’m making up for the Tehachapi Railroad Depot Museum’s gift shop. What a mouthful of words–I usually just call it “The Depot”, feeling that people who know me know what/where I mean when I say it. Anyway, I was out running errands yesterday afternoon and dropped off the latest pillow I’d made for the gift shop. Now that I’ve delivered it, I realize that I didn’t photograph it. Well, drat. I’ll have to take my chances that it won’t have been sold before I can get a photo of it.

My day started kind of early today with a visit by Mike, a”Hey! Culligan Man!” repairman. I called yesterday to request a repairman for our water softener. When the water softener was installed 10 years ago, the water lines were installed crooked. It worked fine up until a couple of months ago. Over time, the house has settled, things have shifted and now the unit leaks. The Culligan repairman suggested I get a plumber to straighten out the lines and use flexible hoses to connect the water softener so the stress is relieved. I think that just might work. He said our unit was actually so old that parts couldn’t be ordered for it, so it’s either try to make this unit work for a while longer, or bite the bullet and buy a new one. He gave me a price for a Culligan water softener and although I’m impressed with the quality of their service and products, the price was out of my comfort range for a water softener.

By coincidence, our plumber has been declared Tehachapi Small Business of the Year for 2016, so I know he’s going to be busier than ever, but I’ll give him a call and see if he has time to change out/fix our pipes. As Mike stated, getting the water line configuration corrected would be cheaper than a new water softener and it might do the trick.

It’s Tuesday and Robert is at the Depot, doing whatever needs doing. One of the latest projects the guys have been working on is a closed circuit camera installed on the back side  of the Depot with the lens aimed at the tracks. They’ll eventually install a monitor inside the Depot for visitors to view, but I have no idea where or when it will be installed. It would be nice if they could put this on the Depot web site as a live feed. I don’t know if this is part of their plans or not. We shall see…

Nothing but sewing on the agenda for today, so I’d better get to it. Be safe, be well, and please be happy.

 

About tehachap

The easiest way to define myself is as a very happily married woman with two sons and two grandsons. My hobbies include reading, writing, sewing, trains (watching, photographing and running them in G scale), and travel. My husband and I are retired and we spend our winters in Arizona. I used to own a secretarial and desktop publishing business, but closed it when my husband retired in 1999. We have truly enjoyed our retirement years, and have fulfilled one of our primary goals in life and that is to own a home overlooking train tracks so we can watch trains 24/7. We are sincerely blessed in this life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

