Sunday, January 22, 2017

img_4461Another comfort quilt for a friend, it’s made from a stack of 10″ squares called a “Layer Cake.”

I fell in love with the colors and designs when I saw it on the Missouri Quilt Company’s Daily Deal well over a year ago. I’ve held on to it, thinking I would save it for a special occasion, but meanwhile would indulge myself in my love of the colors every time I came across it in my stash. My personal coloring is called Winter, so the bright teals, purples and golds of the fabric really appeal to me. The pattern is called “Double Slice” and it can be found on YouTube here: https://youtu.be/jxC-0T5lXw4

Cold and wet out again today, and the snow has all but melted except for the tops of the mountains across the way.

img_4462

We have a new visitor to the back yard today — a white dove! Makes me think someone had a wedding recently and released a few white doves. Nice to see among all of the pidgeons, doves, and “Hoodies” (Black Crown sparrows).

img_4464

My apologies for the long distance photo from my office window — it’s far too cold and wet to go out onto the deck for a closer shot. Plus, if the birds see me, they fly away, so best to get whatever shot I can from inside the house!

Have a good day. Be safe, be well, and be happy. Be sure to tell those you love that you love them. Life can be incredibly short, so live it as well as you can for as long as you can.

About tehachap

The easiest way to define myself is as a very happily married woman with two sons and two grandsons. My hobbies include reading, writing, sewing, trains (watching, photographing and running them in G scale), and travel. My husband and I are retired and we spend our winters in Arizona. I used to own a secretarial and desktop publishing business, but closed it when my husband retired in 1999. We have truly enjoyed our retirement years, and have fulfilled one of our primary goals in life and that is to own a home overlooking train tracks so we can watch trains 24/7. We are sincerely blessed in this life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Sunday, January 22, 2017

  1. mageb says:

    George is having a wonderful time with his feeder and the giant flock of birds it brings. Love that train down there. Still keeping both of you in my thoughts.
    Interesting pattern. To cold to sew today.

    Like

  2. mageb says:

    Just want you to know that I’m there for both of you.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. mageb says:

    One day now. I presume you have gone inland. We are thinking of you.

    Like

Leave a Reply

