Sunday, February 26, 2017

img_20170224_204442This past Friday evening was the monthly meeting of the “Loose Threads” quilting group here in Tehachapi. The evening’s program was a “Sew-A-Thon” where members worked on creating quilts for new homeowners in Mexico–to be presented to them once their new home is built by local church volunteers. Onward and upward, the first photo is the “pre-block” block that will be turned into the block in the next photo.

The pattern is called “Disappearing Nine-Patch” and the effect is quite stunning when you see the transition from a simple block to a complex arrangement of color.

img_0012

 

 

 

 

 

 

Here are some other blocks and quilt tops:

img_20170224_20442816996479_10209423471767194_6548921725973657819_n

17022177_10208703743175875_5974098324815392720_n

 

 

img_20170224_204357_1cs

 

 

 

 

 

 

Ever moving forward, I’m enjoying this change of fabrics and patterns.

Be safe, be well, and please be happy. Be sure to tell those you love that you love them.

 

 

 

About tehachap

The easiest way to define myself is as a very happily married woman with two sons and two grandsons. My hobbies include reading, writing, sewing, trains (watching, photographing and running them in G scale), and travel. My husband and I are retired and we spend our winters in Arizona. I used to own a secretarial and desktop publishing business, but closed it when my husband retired in 1999. We have truly enjoyed our retirement years, and have fulfilled one of our primary goals in life and that is to own a home overlooking train tracks so we can watch trains 24/7. We are sincerely blessed in this life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Sunday, February 26, 2017

  1. Carole says:

    Your quilts are beautiful! My mom used to quilt. Her neuropathy eventually prevented her from continuing.

    How nice you can enjoy this wonderful hobby, and there is a benefit for others as well 🙂

    Like

    • tehachap says:

      Thanks for your comment. I do enjoy creating with fabric, and giving to others. I just spotted your e-mail — I use ‘me’ as my name too!!! ROFL at the connection. When I call someone, I usually say, “Hi, it’s me.” (like the people I call would automatically know ‘me’ by my voice!)

      I love the synchronicity of life — how the Universe puts us in touch with the people we need in our lives just when we need them. This new journey of mine with my husband’s health isn’t quite as scary since I have met you and can read how you handle certain situations. I thank you for being there and being in my life!

      Regards,
      Carol
      p.s. I’ve always loved paper and fabric — I’ve alternated between the two in my creativity over the years.

      Like

Leave a Reply

