Friday, March 2, 2017

A number of years ago I had a web site called “Carol’s Musings.” I posted photos of my artwork (creations in fabric or paper), favorite recipes, and our garden railroad, the Sunset Pacific Ry. The site was built on a Geocities.com framework. Sadly, Geocities went away and I never rebuilt the web site. Instead, I began blogging at various blog sites. Open Diary (OD) was the one I had the longest affiliation with, and when it died, I found myself in limbo–Where to go? Do I even want to write anymore? The friends I had made on OD scattered to the four winds. I’ve managed to reconnect with a few of them — my closest friend, Mage, went to Blogger. I opted to use WordPress. For whatever reason, I couldn’t make heads or tails of the ins and outs of Blogger. I do well enough to keep my WordPress page going! I think those of us who used OD were spoiled but didn’t know it until it was gone.

But I digress… every now and then, I find myself in need of a favorite recipe, and I do a search on the Internet for the archived copy of that web site. I think that as long as I continue to search for it and access it, it’ll live on in the nether regions of the Internet. At least I hope it will. Herewith is a link to the recipes page from that web site.

Robert Update — he saw the surgeon again today , seven weeks post-surgery and the incision is completely healed. He still tires fairly easily. The surgeon said he could drive now, and could ride his bike around the neighborhood, but to take it easy and not do anything too strenuous. He said he didn’t want a hernia to develop at the surgical site. I had forgot that the hernia surgery that took place several years ago was on that same side, so apparently, he’s a bit weak in that area of his body.
After we saw the surgeon, I drove us to Hungry Hunter for a quick early dinner and then across the parking lot to CostCo. I had my rebate check and wanted to spend it!! LOL We walked to the camera display area and looked at the cameras for a bit, then walked to the snack aisles where I picked up a bag of trail mix. Off to the register to pay, and we were out the door. When we got to the car, Robert said he was tired and just wanted to go home. That little bit of walking really took it out of him.
We had a bit of a surprise Tuesday morning when a fire truck and ambulance pulled into our cul-de-sac. The neighbor west of us apparently hadn’t been eating much for the past few days and his wife called 911. It turns out that he’s suffered a brain bleed. He’s in ICU in a hospital in Bakersfield, and is lapsing in and out of consciousness. The neighbors and I gathered there in the street that morning, waiting for the ambulance to leave, and we discussed how we were all getting up there in years, and how this may be the tip of the iceberg for us all. It makes us realize how suddenly our lives can change, and makes us appreciate each moment of our life a little bit more.
Be safe, be well, and please be happy. Life can turn on a dime, so please be sure to tell those you love that you love them.
About tehachap

The easiest way to define myself is as a very happily married woman with two sons and two grandsons. My hobbies include reading, writing, sewing, trains (watching, photographing and running them in G scale), and travel. My husband and I are retired and we spend our winters in Arizona. I used to own a secretarial and desktop publishing business, but closed it when my husband retired in 1999. We have truly enjoyed our retirement years, and have fulfilled one of our primary goals in life and that is to own a home overlooking train tracks so we can watch trains 24/7. We are sincerely blessed in this life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Friday, March 2, 2017

  1. mageb says:

    most of us from od are over at Prosebox.com
    thank you sso much for the update. yes, exercise, but it is so hard sometimes.
    why not print out the recipes. i did.

    Like

    • tehachap says:

      I did print them out — and left them in AZ! I’ve been draining the swamp of tax documents all day. I will be so glad when it’s done and I can return to my sewing!

      Like

Leave a Reply

