Sunday, March 5, 2017

img_0014Cloudy, breezy and cold. But the sun is shining on the snow-capped hills across the way.

A good day to stay indoors and watch “roundy-round” races on t.v., or to sew.

I’m taking a break here from working on the quilts for the families in Mexico. I was initially confused about how much fabric was required, but thankfully, I had leftover fabric and could go back and cut more strips. The size will be what it is and it’ll be enough after I’ve added my borders to it.

img_0012The fabric combination is growing on me, and I’m thinking about what fabrics I want to use for the borders. I’ll have to go to the cupboard and see what catches my eye.

Meanwhile, I have another quilt in progress — another Disappearing Nine Patch for the families in Mexico, and I have fabrics set aside for the quilt for our friend.

I saw a post on FB this morning about the sewing group in AZ holding a silent auction for their extra sewing machines. I replied privately to the member who had posted a question about the sale and asked if they were actually going to sell the machines as I had bought one previously but had to return it. I told her the whole situation left a bad taste in my mouth for the way things were handled. This time, I’m the odd man out and I can see how those who complained about the sale last time had felt about being left out. It wasn’t anyone’s intention to leave people out of the opportunity to buy one of the extra machines, but that’s the way it worked out. I can see now, that it just wasn’t fair to everyone in the membership. Everyone should have had a fair and equal chance at buying one of the machines.

When I saw that we weren’t going to make it to AZ this winter, I went ahead and ordered a sewing machine online. I love my machine, even with its quirks. Every sewing machine has its own idiosyncrasies, some worse than others. My Bernina is 18 years old and although it’s still going strong, its stitches aren’t as smooth as they used to be. I’ve had it in the shop and either the repairman didn’t do such a hot job or my machine is just getting old. Either way, I’m enjoying my new machine immensely. I wouldn’t mind having one of the machines from the sewing group–they’re Janome’s and they’re quite good machines. I would leave it in AZ and not have to take either of my machines here with us when we go for the winter (hopefully, this coming October!). We shall see…

The living room has gone quiet so I guess the race is over. Since there’s a bit of peace and quiet there, I’m going to get off this computer and go read, “The Magicians” by Lev Grossman. It’s the book that the NetFlix show is based on. I’ve seen the show, so now I want to read the book! It’s kind of neat to discover all the things that got left out of the show.

Be safe, be well, and please be happy. Be grateful for what you have and for what you don’t have. We are blessed… Be sure to tell those you love that you love them.

About tehachap

The easiest way to define myself is as a very happily married woman with two sons and two grandsons. My hobbies include reading, writing, sewing, trains (watching, photographing and running them in G scale), and travel. My husband and I are retired and we spend our winters in Arizona. I used to own a secretarial and desktop publishing business, but closed it when my husband retired in 1999. We have truly enjoyed our retirement years, and have fulfilled one of our primary goals in life and that is to own a home overlooking train tracks so we can watch trains 24/7. We are sincerely blessed in this life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Sunday, March 5, 2017

  1. mageb says:

    I’m really looking forward to getting back to the Crow quilt. Inaction doesn’t suit me at all. Hope Robert is doing better every day. Why not bring your old machine down here and have that repair shop work on it. I like that shop in Claremont a lot.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

