Monday, March 13, 2017

DSCN3355

DSCN3356

 

 

 

 

 

The first quilt top for the families in TiaJuana, Mexico, is finished, and I have one more in the works.  I hope to get it finished by Thursday so I can turn it in to be quilted. Several members of the Loose Threads quilting group here in Tehachapi have a long arm machine and will be quilting these quilts at no charge. It’s all about working together to help others.

My Other Quilter’s Treasures box is all packed up, sealed and ready to be labeled and shipped off to another quilter. It’s a Medium Size Flat Rate box from the post office, and I’ll receive the same size box full of goodies in return. It’s a fun way to change your stash and pass along fabrics that you’ve fallen out of love with. I have to admit that choosing which fabrics to let go of isn’t always an easy thing to do for me. I really enjoy looking at all the colors and designs of fabrics.

I do try to be generous in my selection of fabrics, however, because I have always believed it is better to give than to receive, and you receive ten-fold in blessings for all that you give to others. I’m living proof of the blessing part, because my life is blessed. I used to have a hard time accepting gifts from others — it made me feel beholden to them. But a dear friend, who has since passed away, broke my reluctance to accept, though it still creeps into my thinking at times. It’s the way I was raised…

Today is our youngest son’s 11th birthday!! Happy Birthday Anthony!! Love you to pieces, sweetheart! He’s my crafting buddy — when I played with paper, doing Origami or making cards, he was right there by my side, rubber stamp and ink pad or decorative scissors in hand. Then, when I moved over to creating with fabric, he came to me and said, “Grandma, will you teach me to sew??” I gave him his very own sewing kit, complete with scissors, needles, threads and pins. And then we pulled fabric from my scrap bins. I’ve had to teach him to go to the scrap bins for fabric before going to fabrics in my cupboard. Initially, when he began sewing, I had to watch him because he would help himself to fabrics in the cupboard and be cutting on them before I knew it. I told him that he could have any fabric he wanted out of the scrap bins, but he had to ask to pull fabric from the cupboard. Since then, he’s been very good about not pulling fabrics from the cupboard without asking first. Some day, I hope to teach him how to use the Bernina. It’s a very simple machine and I think it would be a good machine for him to use when he visits.

I can’t believe how our weather has changed! It’s absolutely balmy today, and I have my window and sliding glass door open. Gorgeous weather today!! Robert happened to be looking out at some track maintenance equipment moving up the tracks towards town when he saw a Bobcat strolling across the back of our property. I didn’t catch it in time to get its picture, but maybe next time.

Be safe, be well, and please be happy. Be sure to tell those you love that you love them. Blessings come to us in many ways. It’s being able to re-connect with a long-time friend that you haven’t spoken to in years, or being able to cheer a friend who has been forced to move into a care facility due to a diagnosis of Alzheimer’s. I have to admit that just coming up to a very busy intersection and seeing no cars coming in either direction is a bit of a blessing for me. It makes me feel safe and protected from potential harm when crossing the intersection. I used to tell my older sister that blessings aren’t always huge things like winning the lottery. It’s the small moments in life that make it special. May your day be filled with blessings and memorable moments.

 

About tehachap

The easiest way to define myself is as a very happily married woman with two sons and two grandsons. My hobbies include reading, writing, sewing, trains (watching, photographing and running them in G scale), and travel. My husband and I are retired and we spend our winters in Arizona. I used to own a secretarial and desktop publishing business, but closed it when my husband retired in 1999. We have truly enjoyed our retirement years, and have fulfilled one of our primary goals in life and that is to own a home overlooking train tracks so we can watch trains 24/7. We are sincerely blessed in this life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

