Saturday, March 18, 2017

This wasn’t the first train of the day, but it sure was the most colorful. It’s a train of empty boxcars that are headed north to be refilled. It’s the Wine Train, but it’s empty. Ah me… such is life. LOL

The plumber was scheduled to be here at 8:00 a.m. I set my alarm for 7:00 a.m. so I could shower, have the coffee on, newspaper in, and the water softener tank emptied in preparation for the plumber to arrive at 8. While I was out dipping the water out of the water softener tank, the phone must have rung. When I finished and went back inside, my answering machine was beeping. He won’t be here until 11:00 a.m. Arrrgh… I could have slept in!!! LOL Ah me, ah well, it’s better that I got a head start on my day.

One day at a time — I worked on the taxes a bit this morning, and I think I’m ready to meet with the accountant. I’ll call and set an appointment next Monday. I’ll be glad to have it over and done with. Chalk that one off my list!

Carl, my part-time cat loves catnip. I had maybe half a cup of loose catnip left in the bag, and I knew that Carl would be leaving for his new home soon, so last night I made him one final catnip pillow. When it was finished, I took it and placed it on top of the storage box out on the deck. The box sits underneath the window that overlooks my cutting table. This morning, when I went to check to see if it had been moved, it wasn’t there! It was down on the deck, covered with fine blond hairs and dust. Ah ha! Carl must have visited last night after I’d gone to bed.  I’m going to miss him something awful…

Well, I hear my sewing machine calling me. I’ve returned to working on quilts for the Tehachapi Railroad Depot Museum‘s gift shop. The quilt I’m working on right now is a baby quilt, and is actually pre-sold to JP, another volunteer at the Depot. She saw photos of it in one of my previous WordPress blog posts and told me that she wanted to buy it. I got sidetracked in making the baby quilt when another friend asked me to make a quilt for her friend who was in treatment for breast cancer.

I got the quilt for the breast cancer friend finished and shipped off. Then my quilting group was asked to make quilts for families in Mexico. So that put the baby quilt off again. Two quilt tops later, my task list is back on track and I have resumed quilting the baby quilt. I’m half done with it and know what I will do to quilt the large open spaces, so am primed and ready to sew.

JP actually went into the Depot gift shop a few weeks ago, looking to buy the baby quilt. It wasn’t there so she called me to ask if I’d finished it and if I did, had I taken it to the Depot. She thought it had been sold. I told her no, I had set it aside to work on quilts for a friend and for the families in Mexico. I told her when I did finish it, I would make sure it was held just for her to purchase. I’ve even told the gift shop manager that it’s been sold, so she knows it’s not to go onto the shelves with other quilts available for purchase. Kind of nice that I can make things that are so readily accepted by others.

I have two bids to remove the trees that are blocking our view of the train tracks. So far, the prices I’ve received are way more than I anticipated. I have to wonder if a heavy trim would be cheaper. But that just leaves the tree to grow up again and it puts off the inevitable. The trees have mistletoe in them and sooner or later, they’ll have to be removed.

Be safe, be well, and please be happy. I’ve found myself feeling out of sorts for the past several days. I had trouble with one of the tree service companies last week–the estimator failed to show at the appointed time and it’s been a real test of my patience to get an estimate from them. When she finally showed up, the estimate she gave for my neighbor’s trees was high and I came back with a lower offer, asking if she combined the quote for all of the trees, would she be able to match the lower price. I don’t think she liked my asking for the negotiated price and she said she’d get back to me. Now that I haven’t heard back from her, I realize I may have been a bit short with her. But, that said, I have a problem with people who don’t keep appointments and who don’t have the decency to call and let the customer know they’re going to be delayed. Not good. So now I have the option of eating crow and going back to that estimator and saying, what’s your best price? It’s bound to be a difficult moment, all things considered. I failed to remember that I need to be nice to everyone I come in contact with — we’re all fighting battles in life.

Know that you are loved, and be sure to tell those you love that you love them. Love remains after all else is gone…

About tehachap

The easiest way to define myself is as a very happily married woman with two sons and two grandsons. My hobbies include reading, writing, sewing, trains (watching, photographing and running them in G scale), and travel. My husband and I are retired and we spend our winters in Arizona. I used to own a secretarial and desktop publishing business, but closed it when my husband retired in 1999. We have truly enjoyed our retirement years, and have fulfilled one of our primary goals in life and that is to own a home overlooking train tracks so we can watch trains 24/7. We are sincerely blessed in this life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

