Tuesday, March 21, 2017

April 1st is the first day of NaJoWriMo, and I’ve signed up to participate. I hope I can remain true and write every day. Some days, it’s easy to sit down and pound out 500+ words, and other days, I sit here and twiddle my thumbs, waiting for my muse to appear.

Several years ago, I belonged to an online art group called “Belle Papier,” which translated in French stood for Beautiful Paper. There were 25+ artists in the group and we each had our own style of art. Mine happened to be mixed media and collage. I still enjoy creating, but now my creations are based on fabrics and color. The site still exists in Facebook, and although it’s no longer active, you can see posts with photos of artist’s work. Belle Papier was followed by “Salon des Muses“, another art group made up of many of the former Belle Papier artists. We missed the camaraderie, the art swaps and discussions that went on, and thus, the Salon was created to fill that void.

I remember the gatherings we held online at Belle Papier — we would meet in a many-storied Victorian house. Some of us would gather in the lounge, sitting in front of a fireplace. We would each describe our view of the room and where we were sitting. I always selected an overstuffed wing-back chair in a corner by the fireplace–close, but not too close. Esmerelda and Etienne (I believe this was their names) were our personal maid and butler. They waited on us, serving drinks, fancy foods or anything we needed. Some members chose to create personal art studios in rooms upstairs, coming down to visit briefly before going back upstairs to create. It was all created in our imagination, and posted in messages on the group’s page. Such fun…

I posted one question to the group a couple of years ago, asking what others did with their collection of artwork created in swaps. I had participated in color postcard swaps, as well as Artist Trading Card swaps. A week or so ago, I happened to be reading a new blog that I found through a friend’s blog, and saw that the writer had a postcard collection. I wrote to her and asked if she would be interested in having my color postcard collection. She responded with a resounding YES! So I went to the post office and picked out a medium size, flat rate box. I filled it to the top with postcards, taped it shut and shipped it off. It felt good to pass the cards along to someone who would appreciate the effort that went into the creation of the postcards. When she received the box, she wrote and thanked me, exclaiming that she had no idea I would have so many. I told her I kept about a third of the postcards, and I was very glad to be able to fine someone to take them. She said she would enjoy going through and looking at each one. The photo is of an Artist Trading Card I created for a swap in June 2014.

This has been a nice walk down memory lane for me. I hope you’ve enjoyed the trip. Be safe, be well, and please be happy. Be sure to tell those you love that you love them.

About tehachap

The easiest way to define myself is as a very happily married woman with two sons and two grandsons. My hobbies include reading, writing, sewing, trains (watching, photographing and running them in G scale), and travel. My husband and I are retired and we spend our winters in Arizona. I used to own a secretarial and desktop publishing business, but closed it when my husband retired in 1999. We have truly enjoyed our retirement years, and have fulfilled one of our primary goals in life and that is to own a home overlooking train tracks so we can watch trains 24/7. We are sincerely blessed in this life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Tuesday, March 21, 2017

  1. Carole says:

    Thanks for sharing this Tehachap. Your artwork and your writing are gifts to be cherished. So glad that they bring joy to your life 🙂

    Like

  2. mageb says:

    I don’t know what NaJoWrMo Means. I often participate in NoJoWiMo…November journal writing Month. Still Coughing today. but I am up and showered and dressed.

    Like

    • tehachap says:

      Na = National Jo = Journal Wr = Writing Mo = Month… it’s the same thing you do — it happens four times per year/quarterly. April is the first month for each year. I don’t always participate — it depends on how much I have on my plate! 😉 I’m still very congested, but feeling a bit better–no joint pain.

      Like

Leave a Reply

