Tuesday, March 28, 2017

One would think we wouldn’t have trouble with squirrels with the trees gone, but this morning this little rascal was raiding the birdseed tossed onto the ground by the Jays. He heard me draw open the window blinds and raced to the wall. There he froze in place, most likely thinking to himself, “If I don’t move, they won’t see me.” Right! LOL Then after about 5 minutes, he scampered over the wall, under the fence, and into the neighbor’s yard.

The other day, we watched a gopher pop up and down out of his hole(s). We’ll have to get down there with some moth balls and put him out of the hole digging business. Moth balls do work as a deterrent, but they eventually dissipate, especially if we get any rains at all. Then the little buggers are right back at it again. I’ve been told that the squirrels we see in the back yard aren’t actually tree squirrels, but ground squirrels. No matter, they’re destructive and we don’t want them to take residency in our garden railroad.

With the completion of the extra track down by Tunnel 10, trains only hold here in the valley when they’re very long, and when there’s an equally long train coming up the mountain.

 

I caught this train sitting in the valley just a while ago. I figured he was waiting on a train to come up. and I was right.

 

 

 

Looks like a good day for train watching!

For myself, I’m half finished sewing down the binding on that baby quilt so will get off here and go do what needs to be done.

Be safe, be well, and please be happy. One of my author friends says she starts each day at breakfast with thoughts of appreciation, acceptance, and an attitude of happiness. She says that it sets the tone of her day. I think that’s an outstanding way to start a day. While you move through your day, remember to tell those you love that you love them.

 

About tehachap

The easiest way to define myself is as a very happily married woman with two sons and two grandsons. My hobbies include reading, writing, sewing, trains (watching, photographing and running them in G scale), and travel. My husband and I are retired and we spend our winters in Arizona. I used to own a secretarial and desktop publishing business, but closed it when my husband retired in 1999. We have truly enjoyed our retirement years, and have fulfilled one of our primary goals in life and that is to own a home overlooking train tracks so we can watch trains 24/7. We are sincerely blessed in this life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Tuesday, March 28, 2017

  1. mageb says:

    Remember, Truman used too feed his. LOL
    Thanks for telling us why you took the trees down. Sorry they were diseased. They are so endangered now. I’m hoping I can get back to quilting in a couple of months.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

