Monday, April 3, 2017

Today is our youngest son’s birthday, so I know what I was doing 47 years ago! LOL He was here this weekend with his eldest son and his cousin, my niece J. We had a great weekend, but it wasn’t until after they’d left to go back home that I remembered his birthday was today and I hadn’t given him his birthday card before he left. Thankfully, I’d already given him his present — a month ago!! LOL I saw this photo zoom lense attachment for cell phones and thought it would be perfect for him as he loves taking pictures. I ordered it and had it delivered to his house, then told him after it arrived that I thought he might not always have his camera with him, and this lens attachment would enable him to capture spur of the moment photos with his cell phone.

We had our choice of leftovers for dinner last night. The ribs were great second time around, and I had more of the corn salsa and coleslaw. Yum. I didn’t find any of the cabbage left, but it would have been good as well. I didn’t describe the grilled cabbage in my previous post, so will do that here. The last time the kids came up for a visit, they grilled slabs of cabbage that had been coated with a cheese mixture. Not a real winner, so this time J tried a new recipe for grilling cabbage. You cut the cabbage in a grid pattern, making the slices about 1-2″ wide and cutting down, but not quite through to the core. Spread butter on the inside of each slice. Pour half a can of beer over the slices, then layer strips of lean bacon around the whole head of cabbage. Wrap in heavy duty foil and bake on the grill for 1 hour. It was really good — probably just a variation of frying cabbage in a skillet with bacon, which is ALWAYS good.

I have the tri-tip roast too–it’ll make some great sandwiches for lunch. And we have fresh strawberries for dessert! There was a couple selling flats of strawberries, oranges and Mangoes out of their truck when we came to the intersection of Red Apple and Westwood Blvd. As we drove up to the corner, we could see the flats of strawberries displayed, but the berries were so large, it looked like a solid box of red. I couldn’t resist, so I bought a half flat — 8 boxes! The berries were huge and I wondered if they would have any flavor at all. Not to worry, they were (are) fantastic. For large berries, they had that sweet, old-fashioned strawberry flavor that I haven’t tasted in a berry for I don’t know how long. I’ll have to make up some shortcakes today for dessert tonight.

And I have sewing to do. I had received a request from one of the cashiers in the Tehachapi Depot Railroad Museum’s gift shop for a holder for colored pencils. She takes a coloring book and colored pencils with her whenever she travels, and needed a holder for them that would be similar to the crayon rolls I make to sell in the gift shop. So, I worked up a model and it turned out quite nice, if I do say so myself.

I fashioned it after the crayon rolls I had made previously:

It’s very overcast this morning and a bit cold, still. I learned yesterday that my next door neighbor has found a house and escrow will close on May 1st, so the couple who are renting the downstairs area from her will be able to move up to the top floor. Mike and Cheryl were outside yesterday afternoon as the kids were getting ready to leave, so I was able to introduce them to the family. I’m going to miss Claudia and her cat Carl, my part time cat, but I’m happy for her as she’s going to be living closer to her daughter, and that’s good for her.

I can hear that the coffee has quit gurgling, so I know it’s ready for my first cup of the day, so I’ll close this with blessings to all. Be safe, be well, and please be happy. Be sure to tell those you love that you love them. If you have someone you can love, and who loves you, you are blessed.

About tehachap

The easiest way to define myself is as a very happily married woman with two sons and two grandsons. My hobbies include reading, writing, sewing, trains (watching, photographing and running them in G scale), and travel. My husband and I are retired and we spend our winters in Arizona. I used to own a secretarial and desktop publishing business, but closed it when my husband retired in 1999. We have truly enjoyed our retirement years, and have fulfilled one of our primary goals in life and that is to own a home overlooking train tracks so we can watch trains 24/7. We are sincerely blessed in this life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Monday, April 3, 2017

  1. mageb says:

    What a great visit. You always delight me. I do think I will ski the beery cabbage tho.

    Liked by 1 person

    • tehachap says:

      I debated putting that recipe in because of the beer, but figured you could leave the beer off and it would still be good — I’d also salt & pepper between the slabs of cabbage. It was soooo good. But especially because that bacon was crisp and lean. Tasty!! I found a lot of recipes for cooking cabbage with onion and bacon, but none exactly like this. I am really fond of cabbage (also added the coleslaw side dish to the post.) Not much coleslaw left though.

      Like

Leave a Reply

