Tuesday, April 4, 2017

A trip to Bakersfield is on tomorrow’s agenda. An x-ray and follow-up appt. with the Urologist for Robert and a visit to JoAnn’s, BestBuy and Walmart for me. I’ll be shopped out by the time I get finished, but it’ll be good to have the things I need for projects. I received an e-mail from the manager of the Tehachapi Depot Railroad Museum gift shop and she says absolutely everything I’ve made has sold and her shelves are empty. Take a hint!

I sent in the one colored pencil roll with Robert when he went to the Depot today. Tuesdays are Signal Crew work days. Today is the first day he’s driven himself to the Depot, and the first time in ages he’s showed up at the regular starting time. He said there was a full crew there today, which is nice to hear, as we had one member who’d been out having health issues for the past couple of months. Robert isn’t the only one who’s had health problems these past few months. It was good to know everyone was back in the swing of things.

I’ve been sitting here, watching the sky grow dark and the steady stream of headlights coming up the highway. My sleep cycle is often hit or miss, so at times I find myself up in the wee hours of the morning. I watch the world go by from my office window and think to myself that I’m glad I’m retired and don’t have the pressures of work. I appreciate the efforts of people who are still working, knowing that they’re doing what I used to be able to do, but can do no more.

Enough musing about the world outside my window…I have one quilt layered and pinned, ready for quilting. I’m going to get off of this computer and get to sewing.

May you be blessed; be safe, be well and please be happy. Be sure to tell those you love that you love them. Be grateful to those who serve — in the military, or taking your meal order, or ringing up your purchases at the store. Wherever someone is doing something to make your life better — appreciate their being where they are and for doing what they do.

About tehachap

The easiest way to define myself is as a very happily married woman with two sons and two grandsons. My hobbies include reading, writing, sewing, trains (watching, photographing and running them in G scale), and travel. My husband and I are retired and we spend our winters in Arizona. I used to own a secretarial and desktop publishing business, but closed it when my husband retired in 1999. We have truly enjoyed our retirement years, and have fulfilled one of our primary goals in life and that is to own a home overlooking train tracks so we can watch trains 24/7. We are sincerely blessed in this life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Tuesday, April 4, 2017

  1. mageb says:

    I like the world outside your window. 🙂
    So very glad that Robert is vastly better. Oh Hurrah.
    Is Joann’s the only fabric store there?

    Liked by 1 person

    • tehachap says:

      Joann’s is in Bakersfield and in Lancaster-Palmdale. I shop there primarily because they have good quality fabrics at reasonable prices, and they offer coupons! I shop online as well, ordering from Missouri Star Quilt Co. more often than any other, though I order my threads from Connecting Threads. I wasn’t going to buy any more fabric today, but then I did… just half a yard of four black & whites and a yard of a nice red. I’ve decided on the pattern for my great-nephew’s quilt–it’s going to be that nine-patch slice and swap (or whatever it’s called… LOL the pattern for the quilts I made for those families in Mexico). I’m going to use all different 5″ blocks with the solid red in the center. I might have to make a couple of test ones just to see if I like it or not. His bed is a California King, so this will be the biggest quilt I’ve made yet. I’ve already decided that I want to pay to have it quilted on a long arm.

      Like

Leave a Reply

