Thursday, April 13, 2017

The first of two aprons is finished. I’m very pleased with the results and feel it will sell quickly when hung in the Depot gift shop. I have another apron cut out and ready to be finished, and a quilt that has been sewn and is ready for squaring up and binding. Then it’s on to more quilts and possibly a few crayon rolls.

I also have a couple of packages of colored pencils and marker pens that can be put into holders. The last time I was in the gift shop, I saw that there was one crayon roll and one pencil roll still on the shelf, and one apron hanging on the end of the rack. No other quilts or pillows were available for sale. I’ll have to see if I can’t make up a patchwork pillow or two. They do seem to sell quickly.

I’ve been reading “Cherokee Rose” by Tiya Miles. I believe it’s a work of fiction, but based on historical information. It resonates with me because it speaks of my paternal grandmother’s ancestry. My paternal aunt told her daughter about a time when she was just a young girl. Her mother had received a letter from the government stating she was entitled to land in Oklahoma because of her Cherokee ancestry. The daughter (my aunt) was excited and wanted to take the letter to school for Show & Tell. My grandmother got very upset, grabbed the letter and burned it in the kitchen stove. She made the daughter promise not to speak of it again. But my aunt never forgot the letter, and eventually told her own daughter about it. I don’t know if it actually happened or not–everyone before my generation has passed on so there’s no one left to ask. It’s one of those things I may never know for sure.

Back to the book, there are three women in the story–all either African-American or Native American/African American mix. They come to a plantation that’s a historical site, but has been auctioned off by the state’s park & recreation department to raise money and avoid having to do extensive (and expensive) repairs to the crumbling building and landscape. Fascinating story so far, and I like it so much that I stopped in at the library this afternoon to renew it for another month so I can take my time reading it. I think I might want to do a bit of research about some of the places I’m reading about–just to see if they do exist or if they’re just fictitious names.

Not much else to write about, so will close this for now. May you and yours be blessed. Be safe, be well, and please be happy. Be sure to tell those you love that you love them.

 

 

About tehachap

The easiest way to define myself is as a very happily married woman with two sons and two grandsons. My hobbies include reading, writing, sewing, trains (watching, photographing and running them in G scale), and travel. My husband and I are retired and we spend our winters in Arizona. I used to own a secretarial and desktop publishing business, but closed it when my husband retired in 1999. We have truly enjoyed our retirement years, and have fulfilled one of our primary goals in life and that is to own a home overlooking train tracks so we can watch trains 24/7. We are sincerely blessed in this life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Thursday, April 13, 2017

  1. mageb says:

    You can ask the government. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

