Saturday, April 22, 2017

Yesterday was a beautiful day filled with two meals out and lots of wonderful gifts. It was my 73rd birthday!! Whoo hoo! So pleased that the day was a happy one — not all of my birthdays have been happy ones.

I’ve been working on my family genealogy and discovered last night that my maternal grandfather passed away at the age of 62. Hard to believe. I remember him as being very old looking, and I was perhaps 12 years old when he passed. I only have one maternal aunt and one maternal uncle left (the uncle’s wife is still living, but the aunt is a widow, and has been for a number of years.) My mother was the eldest of seven children, and if what I heard earlier today is correct, my maternal uncle has passed. That would leave my aunt as the only one left.

Losing everyone in the next generation up from me makes me feel very old in a way. I don’t feel my age, and don’t think of myself as old, but numbers don’t lie. LOL I’ll just do as my friend Mage does, and PERSEVERE! Stay active, give to others, and live my life to the fullest, each and every day.

Be safe, be well, and please be happy. Your happiness comes from within — it’s a mental reaction to life as you experience it. So much depends on your attitude, and how you interpret the events of your life as they unfold. Choose to be happy. And never miss an opportunity to remind those you love that you love them. If my uncle has passed, I will have lost forever the opportunity to say, “I love you and will miss you when you are no longer here with us.”

About tehachap

The easiest way to define myself is as a very happily married woman with two sons and two grandsons. My hobbies include reading, writing, sewing, trains (watching, photographing and running them in G scale), and travel. My husband and I are retired and we spend our winters in Arizona. I used to own a secretarial and desktop publishing business, but closed it when my husband retired in 1999. We have truly enjoyed our retirement years, and have fulfilled one of our primary goals in life and that is to own a home overlooking train tracks so we can watch trains 24/7. We are sincerely blessed in this life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Saturday, April 22, 2017

  1. mageb says:

    I see sunshine out your windows too. Yes, I am dogged about keeping on keeping on. And I still get sick. I did enter five generations for three families into Ancestry.com, and I think I will just let someone else do more. 🙂

    Like

    • tehachap says:

      Gads FIVE generations??? I am impressed! I have 19 pages of names and birth/death dates. I’m going to check to make sure they’re all in there at Ancestry.com and then I think I will have contributed my share for the family. Some time ago I had been using Family Tree Maker software but got lost in it. I have a real mess of records. My niece is going to come up one weekend and we’ll go through it all and clear it up. She gave me a new Paper White Kindle for my birthday, and her sister (who is a Pampered Chef rep.) gave me a Brie and garlic baker, and all sorts of other goodies. I was spoiled yesterday. Learned today my Uncle passed. Sad, but now I can always remember him on my birthday. Have been saying prayers for his soul… may he be at peace.

      Like

  2. wyndes says:

    Happy Birthday! (Belated!) I’m glad you had a good day!

    Like

    • tehachap says:

      Thank you! Although I learned the next day that my uncle had passed away on my birthday, it was still a very nice day. My uncle was 92 years old and had Alzheimer’s. His passing was a blessing for him and his wife.

      Like

Leave a Reply

