Sunday, April 23, 2017

What to do when you’re up early and don’t want to wake the house up? You surf the net, do your e-mail and in general enjoy the day coming alive. We’re socked in with fog this morning and that adds to the silence of the world outside my window.

I discovered a really neat web site a week or two ago. It’s called “A Garden for the House”, and it has gardening tips, decorating advice and recipes!!! I read an article just now about winter sowing of seeds. You can subscribe to his newsletter and I’m sure you’ll enjoy it as much as I do. He and his wife live in a 191 year old house that they are restoring. Kevin Lee Jacobs is the author, and he shares the various restoration projects that tell the history of the house with photos of the before, during and after restoration.  http://www.agardenforthehouse.com/

I like the idea that you can sow seeds outdoors during the winter — no need to harden them before putting them out in the garden. Of course, I don’t have an actual garden yet, but it’s something I want to work on this year. I need to get more raised planter boxes built, and that in itself will be a challenge!

It’s going to be another great day today as we will be driving down to Sun Valley today to meet up with the younger son and my niece. Richard has purchased some chimney liner blocks for the railroad and rather than have him drive all the way up here or us drive all the way down to San Diego, we’re meeting half-way. We’ll meet at a restaurant and have a late lunch together, visit and swap out the blocks from his car to ours. I know we will possibly have to go to San Diego in the very near future to attend a memorial service for my uncle who passed away two days ago (on my birthday, sadly), but we don’t know if or when that service will be held, and if we get the blocks now, Robert can put them in the layout and continue laying track. I’ll try to get out with my camera today to get some updated photos of the work that’s being done. If we get back before nightfall, I’ll take some photos and post them.

Be safe, be well, and please be happy. Be sure to tell those you love that you love them.

 

 

 

 

About tehachap

The easiest way to define myself is as a very happily married woman with two sons and two grandsons. My hobbies include reading, writing, sewing, trains (watching, photographing and running them in G scale), and travel. My husband and I are retired and we spend our winters in Arizona. I used to own a secretarial and desktop publishing business, but closed it when my husband retired in 1999. We have truly enjoyed our retirement years, and have fulfilled one of our primary goals in life and that is to own a home overlooking train tracks so we can watch trains 24/7. We are sincerely blessed in this life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

