Wednesday, May 10, 2017

I finally went shopping for groceries yesterday. My pantry is full, as is the refrigerator. Robert had Depot Duty yesterday and lunch with the Signal Crew afterwards. He learned that the grilled Ham & Cheese sandwich with fries was not a good choice as his blood sugar was at 153 an hour after lunch. That and the tortilla chips and salsa snack did him in. I gave him half of a cut up orange as a snack last night — I felt he needed something in his stomach and the orange would bring his blood sugar up enough to hold him until this morning. His blood sugar reading was 103 this morning, which is good. He sees the dermatologist this afternoon–hopefully it’ll be the last visit for a while.

I went to the Optometrist on Monday, expecting to get a new/better pair of bi-focal glasses. Nope, I got a recommendation that I go for cataract surgery and THEN come back for new glasses. <sigh> Now I know the trepidation that Robert felt before he had his eyes fixed. I look forward to having it behind me. My first appointment is a month from now, so I expect that the surgery won’t take place for at least 6 weeks, and then another six weeks for the other eye. I truly hope to have it all over and done with by the end of October when we (hope, hope, hope) will head for Arizona for the winter. It’ll be the last hoorah for us there, as we plan to put it on the market at the end of the season. Probably should put it on the market at the beginning of the season and catch the people who are looking for a place to spend their winter. We shall see…

I do need to get off of this computer and get to sewing, so I will say my blessings to all; be safe, be well, and please be happy. Be sure to tell those you love that you love them!!

About tehachap

The easiest way to define myself is as a very happily married woman with two sons and two grandsons. My hobbies include reading, writing, sewing, trains (watching, photographing and running them in G scale), and travel. My husband and I are retired and we spend our winters in Arizona. I used to own a secretarial and desktop publishing business, but closed it when my husband retired in 1999. We have truly enjoyed our retirement years, and have fulfilled one of our primary goals in life and that is to own a home overlooking train tracks so we can watch trains 24/7. We are sincerely blessed in this life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

