Thursday, July 20, 2017

I can’t say enough positive things about Dr. David B. Hair of the Bakersfield Eye Institute and the Riverlakes Surgery Center. I had my second cataract surgery yesterday and I can see better than I ever have in my entire life, without glasses! The surgery center called this morning to see how I was doing. We were gone to our monthly breakfast with the Depot Signal Crew and their wives, so I returned their call as soon as I heard the message on our answering machine. The surgery was virtually painless and was over before I knew it had begun. Everything went like clockwork, and I couldn’t be happier with the outcome.

DSCN1327.JPG

A couple of weeks ago, I purchased tickets for a raffle for the Relay for Life breast cancer fundraiser held here in Tehachapi. The raffle prize was the beautiful victory quilt shown in the above photo. When I came back from a trip to San Diego, I received word that I had won the raffle and the quilt was mine. I was sooo surprised and more than pleased to have won such a beautiful quilt. It was created by Cathy Criger of our Loose Threads quilting group. She’s a very talented quilter and I was honored to have won one of her quilts. Then, inspiration struck . . .

As some of you are aware, I was caregiver to my next eldest sister during the time she was in treatment for breast cancer. Her daughter, Jeanette Vogt, participates in the Susan G. Komen 3-Day Event, where participants walk 20 miles per day for three days. A grueling event, each time it’s held at a different city here in the U.S. This year, it will be held in Dallas/Ft. Worth, TX. Jeanette has signed up and has committed to raising a minimum of $5,000 before the event. I am donating the Relay for Life victory quilt to Jeanette’s fundraising effort. She will hold a raffle to raise funds towards her fundraising goal. The quilt will have a new life and will bring in much-needed donations for Jeanette’s effort. If you would like to help Jeanette achieve her goal, please consider donating by going here. If you don’t want to donate online, you can print out the donation form and mail it in. Every dollar helps. Thank you!

I haven’t been writing much these past few weeks because I have been undergoing cataract surgery. I had my right eye done on June 26th and my left eye was done yesterday. I didn’t get any sewing done, either, and I have truly missed it and my writing. I found that although I could see well enough out of my corrected right eye, the left eye kept me from seeing well enough to do much of anything. When I put on my prescription eyeglasses, the right eye went blurry and the left eye was corrected, but only a bit, as the prescription wasn’t strong enough to correct my vision. Horrible Catch-22 situation. Finally, I got my left eye fixed and hooray! I can see… such happiness…

I’m going to close this entry with blessings to all; be safe, be well, and please be happy. Be sure to tell those you love that you love them. We all need to hear those special words, letting us know that we matter to others.

 

About tehachap

The easiest way to define myself is as a very happily married woman with two sons and two grandsons. My hobbies include reading, writing, sewing, trains (watching, photographing and running them in G scale), and travel. My husband and I are retired and we spend our winters in Arizona. I used to own a secretarial and desktop publishing business, but closed it when my husband retired in 1999. We have truly enjoyed our retirement years, and have fulfilled one of our primary goals in life and that is to own a home overlooking train tracks so we can watch trains 24/7. We are sincerely blessed in this life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Thursday, July 20, 2017

  1. Aunt Carol, thank you so much for donating this beautiful quilt to my fundraising efforts! Just to let you know, the 3-Day is held in seven different cities in the US and I try to select a different city each time I walk. This will be my 4th 3-Day since my mom was diagnosed in 2001.

    I’m so glad your surgery was a success!! I look forward to seeing you this weekend. Love you more. J

    Like

  2. Carole says:

    Hooray! So happy for you that the cataract surgery was such a success! It’s easy to take our vision for granted, until we start to have problems. Love the quilt. What a great idea to donate it to raise money for such a worthy cause.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Carol D Westover says:

      Thanks! It’s funny — I can see really well all around me EXCEPT for right up close. I bought a couple of pair of reading glasses at the dollar store and I could read the fine print on the card there at the rack, but when I got the glasses home, they didn’t help me see to sew! :/ LOL I’ll be getting regular prescription glasses, because I need to be able to see to sew and I NEED to sew! LOL Hugs and thanks… Carol

      Like

Leave a Reply

